Skip to main content
added 927 characters in body
Source Link
vapcguy
  • 121
  • 4
  1. On the Power Options page, find your power plan and select Change plan settings. When plugged in, change the settings to "Never". Select to change advanced power settings. Under "Hard disk", change "Turn hard disk off after" to 0, which should change it to "Never". Select "Sleep". Change "Sleep after" to 0, which should change it to "Never". Under "Allow hybrid sleep", select "Off". Change "Hibernate after" to "Never".

  2. You may have Windows Updates automatically updating, and then restarting your PC. In your Windows Updates section, change it to ask you before restarting: Settings > Update & Security > Advanced options > Notify to schedule restart

  3. A Microsoft rep advised this could happen as a result of corrupt system files. I had some odd errors in my System Event Log (accessible by Windows key + R, then typing compmgmt.msc). So I ran sfc /scannow. This may help some.

  4. I had errors related to an Intel MEI driver. I re-downloaded and re-installed it from https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/26146/Intel-Management-Engine-Driver-1-5M-for-Windows-10-for-Intel-NUC-D54250WYK-B-and-D34010WYK-B -- this may help some, but should confirm you have the error in your Event Log before doing so. I did not have any exclamation point on the driver in my Driver Manager, just the Event Log warnings "LMS cannot connect to Intel(R) MEI driver". They didn't go away after doing this re-installation, though, so I don't know if it might still be a culprit.

On this same page, select View your update history. You may find, like I did, several failed update installs. I found they derived from the KD3210721 Windows 10 Cumulative Update. If you click on one of the "Failed on MM/DD/YYYY" links and then click "More info" on the resulting pop-up, you can get to the page with that individual update and download it. When I did this, I arrived at a page with "Windows 10 and Windows Server 2016 Update History" and "Updates for Windows 10 Version 1511", which had several dates - the top (latest) of which was January 10, 2017—KB3210721 (OS Build 10586.753). At the bottom was a link to get the standalone installer from the Microsoft Update Catalog for the full cumulative update, where there was a Download button for the update.

  1. A Microsoft rep advised this could happen as a result of corrupt system files. I had some odd errors in my System Event Log (accessible by Windows key + R, then typing compmgmt.msc). So I ran sfc /scannow. This may help some.

  2. I had errors related to an Intel MEI driver. I re-downloaded and re-installed it from https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/26146/Intel-Management-Engine-Driver-1-5M-for-Windows-10-for-Intel-NUC-D54250WYK-B-and-D34010WYK-B -- this may help some, but should confirm you have the error in your Event Log before doing so. I did not have any exclamation point on the driver in my Driver Manager, just the Event Log warnings "LMS cannot connect to Intel(R) MEI driver". They didn't go away after doing this re-installation, though, so I don't know if it might still be a culprit.

  1. On the Power Options page, find your power plan and select Change plan settings. When plugged in, change the settings to "Never". Select to change advanced power settings. Under "Hard disk", change "Turn hard disk off after" to 0, which should change it to "Never". Select "Sleep". Change "Sleep after" to 0, which should change it to "Never". Under "Allow hybrid sleep", select "Off". Change "Hibernate after" to "Never".

  2. You may have Windows Updates automatically updating, and then restarting your PC. In your Windows Updates section, change it to ask you before restarting: Settings > Update & Security > Advanced options > Notify to schedule restart

  3. A Microsoft rep advised this could happen as a result of corrupt system files. I had some odd errors in my System Event Log (accessible by Windows key + R, then typing compmgmt.msc). So I ran sfc /scannow. This may help some.

  4. I had errors related to an Intel MEI driver. I re-downloaded and re-installed it from https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/26146/Intel-Management-Engine-Driver-1-5M-for-Windows-10-for-Intel-NUC-D54250WYK-B-and-D34010WYK-B -- this may help some, but should confirm you have the error in your Event Log before doing so. I did not have any exclamation point on the driver in my Driver Manager, just the Event Log warnings "LMS cannot connect to Intel(R) MEI driver". They didn't go away after doing this re-installation, though, so I don't know if it might still be a culprit.

  1. On the Power Options page, find your power plan and select Change plan settings. When plugged in, change the settings to "Never". Select to change advanced power settings. Under "Hard disk", change "Turn hard disk off after" to 0, which should change it to "Never". Select "Sleep". Change "Sleep after" to 0, which should change it to "Never". Under "Allow hybrid sleep", select "Off". Change "Hibernate after" to "Never".

  2. You may have Windows Updates automatically updating, and then restarting your PC. In your Windows Updates section, change it to ask you before restarting: Settings > Update & Security > Advanced options > Notify to schedule restart

On this same page, select View your update history. You may find, like I did, several failed update installs. I found they derived from the KD3210721 Windows 10 Cumulative Update. If you click on one of the "Failed on MM/DD/YYYY" links and then click "More info" on the resulting pop-up, you can get to the page with that individual update and download it. When I did this, I arrived at a page with "Windows 10 and Windows Server 2016 Update History" and "Updates for Windows 10 Version 1511", which had several dates - the top (latest) of which was January 10, 2017—KB3210721 (OS Build 10586.753). At the bottom was a link to get the standalone installer from the Microsoft Update Catalog for the full cumulative update, where there was a Download button for the update.

  1. A Microsoft rep advised this could happen as a result of corrupt system files. I had some odd errors in my System Event Log (accessible by Windows key + R, then typing compmgmt.msc). So I ran sfc /scannow. This may help some.

  2. I had errors related to an Intel MEI driver. I re-downloaded and re-installed it from https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/26146/Intel-Management-Engine-Driver-1-5M-for-Windows-10-for-Intel-NUC-D54250WYK-B-and-D34010WYK-B -- this may help some, but should confirm you have the error in your Event Log before doing so. I did not have any exclamation point on the driver in my Driver Manager, just the Event Log warnings "LMS cannot connect to Intel(R) MEI driver". They didn't go away after doing this re-installation, though, so I don't know if it might still be a culprit.

deleted 3 characters in body
Source Link
vapcguy
  • 121
  • 4

This issue is NOT always a hardware/cooling issue. I, myself, did not have this issue until I upgraded to Windows 10. I found several potential causes:

  1. Windows 10 introduced something I've seen referred to as a "Hybrid shutdown". Apparently this causes shutdown problems with Windows, and can be disabled by:

Windows menu > Settings > System > Power & sleep > Additional power settings > Choose what the power button does > Change settings that are currently unavailable > Scroll down to the Shutdown settings : uncheck Fast Startup.

  1. On the Power Options page, find your power plan and select Change plan settings. When plugged in, change the settings to "Never". Select to change advanced power settings. Under "Hard disk", change "Turn hard disk off after" to 0, which should change it to "Never". Select "Sleep". Change "Sleep after" to 0, which should change it to "Never". Under "Allow hybrid sleep", select "Off". Change "Hibernate after" to "Never".

  2. You may have Windows Updates automatically updating, and then restarting your PC. In your Windows Updates section, change it to ask you before restarting: Settings > Update & Security > Advanced options > Notify to schedule restart

  3. A Microsoft rep advised this could happen as a result of corrupt system files. I had some odd errors in my System Event Log (accessible by Windows key + R, then typing compmgmt.msc). So I ran sfc /scannow. This may help some.

  4. I had errors related to an Intel MEI driver. I re-downloaded and re-installed it from https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/26146/Intel-Management-Engine-Driver-1-5M-for-Windows-10-for-Intel-NUC-D54250WYK-B-and-D34010WYK-B -- this may help otherssome, but should confirm you have the error in your Event Log before doing so. I did not have any exclamation point on the driver in my Driver Manager, butjust the installation seemedEvent Log warnings "LMS cannot connect to finally help meIntel(R) MEI driver". They didn't go away after doing this re-installation, though, so I don't know if it might still be a culprit.

Reference: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m3LzlBMPswg

This issue is NOT always a hardware/cooling issue. I, myself, did not have this issue until I upgraded to Windows 10. I found several potential causes:

  1. Windows 10 introduced something I've seen referred to as a "Hybrid shutdown". Apparently this causes shutdown problems with Windows, and can be disabled by:

Windows menu > Settings > System > Power & sleep > Additional power settings > Choose what the power button does > Change settings that are currently unavailable > Scroll down to the Shutdown settings : uncheck Fast Startup.

  1. On the Power Options page, find your power plan and select Change plan settings. When plugged in, change the settings to "Never". Select to change advanced power settings. Under "Hard disk", change "Turn hard disk off after" to 0, which should change it to "Never". Select "Sleep". Change "Sleep after" to 0, which should change it to "Never". Under "Allow hybrid sleep", select "Off". Change "Hibernate after" to "Never".

  2. You may have Windows Updates automatically updating, and then restarting your PC. In your Windows Updates section, change it to ask you before restarting: Settings > Update & Security > Advanced options > Notify to schedule restart

  3. A Microsoft rep advised this could happen as a result of corrupt system files. I had some odd errors in my System Event Log (accessible by Windows key + R, then typing compmgmt.msc). So I ran sfc /scannow. This may help some.

  4. I had errors related to an Intel MEI driver. I re-downloaded and re-installed it from https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/26146/Intel-Management-Engine-Driver-1-5M-for-Windows-10-for-Intel-NUC-D54250WYK-B-and-D34010WYK-B -- this may help others, but should confirm you have the error in your Event Log before doing so. I did not have any exclamation point on the driver in my Driver Manager, but the installation seemed to finally help me.

Reference: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m3LzlBMPswg

This issue is NOT always a hardware/cooling issue. I, myself, did not have this issue until I upgraded to Windows 10. I found several potential causes:

  1. Windows 10 introduced something I've seen referred to as a "Hybrid shutdown". Apparently this causes shutdown problems with Windows, and can be disabled by:

Windows menu > Settings > System > Power & sleep > Additional power settings > Choose what the power button does > Change settings that are currently unavailable > Scroll down to the Shutdown settings : uncheck Fast Startup.

  1. On the Power Options page, find your power plan and select Change plan settings. When plugged in, change the settings to "Never". Select to change advanced power settings. Under "Hard disk", change "Turn hard disk off after" to 0, which should change it to "Never". Select "Sleep". Change "Sleep after" to 0, which should change it to "Never". Under "Allow hybrid sleep", select "Off". Change "Hibernate after" to "Never".

  2. You may have Windows Updates automatically updating, and then restarting your PC. In your Windows Updates section, change it to ask you before restarting: Settings > Update & Security > Advanced options > Notify to schedule restart

  3. A Microsoft rep advised this could happen as a result of corrupt system files. I had some odd errors in my System Event Log (accessible by Windows key + R, then typing compmgmt.msc). So I ran sfc /scannow. This may help some.

  4. I had errors related to an Intel MEI driver. I re-downloaded and re-installed it from https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/26146/Intel-Management-Engine-Driver-1-5M-for-Windows-10-for-Intel-NUC-D54250WYK-B-and-D34010WYK-B -- this may help some, but should confirm you have the error in your Event Log before doing so. I did not have any exclamation point on the driver in my Driver Manager, just the Event Log warnings "LMS cannot connect to Intel(R) MEI driver". They didn't go away after doing this re-installation, though, so I don't know if it might still be a culprit.

Reference: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m3LzlBMPswg

deleted 3 characters in body
Source Link
vapcguy
  • 121
  • 4

This issue is NOT always a hardware/cooling issue. I, myself, did not have this issue until I upgraded to Windows 10. I found several potential causes:

  1. Windows 10 introduced something I've seen referred to as a "Hybrid shutdown". Apparently this is causes shutdown problems with Windows, and can be disabled by:

Windows menu > Settings > System > Power & sleep > Additional power settings > Choose what the power button does > Change settings that are currently unavailable > Scroll down to the Shutdown settings : uncheck Fast Startup.

  1. On the Power Options page, find your power plan and select Change plan settings. When plugged in, change the settings to "Never". Select to change advanced power settings. Under "Hard disk", change "Turn hard disk off after" to 0, which should change it to "Never". Select "Sleep". Change "Sleep after" to 0, which should change it to "Never". Under "Allow hybrid sleep", select "Off". Change "Hibernate after" to "Never".

  2. You may have Windows Updates automatically updating, and then restarting your PC. In your Windows Updates section, change it to ask you before restarting: Settings > Update & Security > Advanced options > Notify to schedule restart

  3. A Microsoft rep advised this could happen as a result of corrupt system files. I had some odd errors in my System Event Log (accessible by Windows key + R, then typing compmgmt.msc). So I ran sfc /scannow. This may help some.

  4. I had errors related to an Intel MEI driver. I re-downloaded and re-installed it from https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/26146/Intel-Management-Engine-Driver-1-5M-for-Windows-10-for-Intel-NUC-D54250WYK-B-and-D34010WYK-B -- this may help others, but should confirm you have the error in your Event Log before doing so. I did not have any exclamation point on the driver in my Driver Manager, but the installation seemed to finally help me.

Reference: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m3LzlBMPswg

This issue is NOT always a hardware/cooling issue. I, myself, did not have this issue until I upgraded to Windows 10. I found several potential causes:

  1. Windows 10 introduced something I've seen referred to as a "Hybrid shutdown". Apparently this is causes shutdown problems with Windows, and can be disabled by:

Windows menu > Settings > System > Power & sleep > Additional power settings > Choose what the power button does > Change settings that are currently unavailable > Scroll down to the Shutdown settings : uncheck Fast Startup.

  1. On the Power Options page, find your power plan and select Change plan settings. When plugged in, change the settings to "Never". Select to change advanced power settings. Under "Hard disk", change "Turn hard disk off after" to 0, which should change it to "Never". Select "Sleep". Change "Sleep after" to 0, which should change it to "Never". Under "Allow hybrid sleep", select "Off". Change "Hibernate after" to "Never".

  2. You may have Windows Updates automatically updating, and then restarting your PC. In your Windows Updates section, change it to ask you before restarting: Settings > Update & Security > Advanced options > Notify to schedule restart

  3. A Microsoft rep advised this could happen as a result of corrupt system files. I had some odd errors in my System Event Log (accessible by Windows key + R, then typing compmgmt.msc). So I ran sfc /scannow. This may help some.

  4. I had errors related to an Intel MEI driver. I re-downloaded and re-installed it from https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/26146/Intel-Management-Engine-Driver-1-5M-for-Windows-10-for-Intel-NUC-D54250WYK-B-and-D34010WYK-B -- this may help others, but should confirm you have the error in your Event Log before doing so. I did not have any exclamation point on the driver in my Driver Manager, but the installation seemed to finally help me.

Reference: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m3LzlBMPswg

This issue is NOT always a hardware/cooling issue. I, myself, did not have this issue until I upgraded to Windows 10. I found several potential causes:

  1. Windows 10 introduced something I've seen referred to as a "Hybrid shutdown". Apparently this causes shutdown problems with Windows, and can be disabled by:

Windows menu > Settings > System > Power & sleep > Additional power settings > Choose what the power button does > Change settings that are currently unavailable > Scroll down to the Shutdown settings : uncheck Fast Startup.

  1. On the Power Options page, find your power plan and select Change plan settings. When plugged in, change the settings to "Never". Select to change advanced power settings. Under "Hard disk", change "Turn hard disk off after" to 0, which should change it to "Never". Select "Sleep". Change "Sleep after" to 0, which should change it to "Never". Under "Allow hybrid sleep", select "Off". Change "Hibernate after" to "Never".

  2. You may have Windows Updates automatically updating, and then restarting your PC. In your Windows Updates section, change it to ask you before restarting: Settings > Update & Security > Advanced options > Notify to schedule restart

  3. A Microsoft rep advised this could happen as a result of corrupt system files. I had some odd errors in my System Event Log (accessible by Windows key + R, then typing compmgmt.msc). So I ran sfc /scannow. This may help some.

  4. I had errors related to an Intel MEI driver. I re-downloaded and re-installed it from https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/26146/Intel-Management-Engine-Driver-1-5M-for-Windows-10-for-Intel-NUC-D54250WYK-B-and-D34010WYK-B -- this may help others, but should confirm you have the error in your Event Log before doing so. I did not have any exclamation point on the driver in my Driver Manager, but the installation seemed to finally help me.

Reference: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m3LzlBMPswg

added 696 characters in body
Source Link
vapcguy
  • 121
  • 4
Loading
Source Link
vapcguy
  • 121
  • 4
Loading