Skip to main content
added 2 characters in body
Source Link
4004
  • 21
  • 4

WiFi(n)-USB2 vs WiFi(n)-USB3 vs Powerline

In the process of upgrading/rebuilding the home PC, and most decent mobos have fancy Ethernet. My current setup uses a WiFi-USB2 adapter (Asus N14), due to poor choices and GPON Internet (ISP-mandated router/AP is an 802.11n Huawei). With no line-of-sight signal I am getting 108-144mbps144 Mbps (Local)/4-6mbps6 Mbps (Internet) on a good day, with occasional lag (unclear if due to wireless interference or adapter/PC issues).
The question: would I be better of with a USB3-compatible WiFi-USB adapter if the router stays the same (n)? Would a Powerline LAN setup (assume AV2, current gen) get me better speeds (assume the wiring is subpar)? Thanks

WiFi-USB2 vs WiFi-USB3 vs Powerline

In the process of upgrading/rebuilding the home PC, and most decent mobos have fancy Ethernet. My current setup uses a WiFi-USB2 adapter (Asus N14), due to poor choices and GPON Internet (ISP-mandated router/AP is an 802.11n Huawei). With no line-of-sight signal I am getting 108-144mbps (Local)/4-6mbps (Internet) on a good day, with occasional lag (unclear if due to wireless interference or adapter/PC issues).
The question: would I be better of with a USB3-compatible WiFi-USB adapter if the router stays the same (n)? Would a Powerline LAN setup (assume AV2, current gen) get me better speeds (assume the wiring is subpar)? Thanks

WiFi(n)-USB2 vs WiFi(n)-USB3 vs Powerline

In the process of upgrading/rebuilding the home PC, and most decent mobos have fancy Ethernet. My current setup uses a WiFi-USB2 adapter (Asus N14), due to poor choices and GPON Internet (ISP-mandated router/AP is an 802.11n Huawei). With no line-of-sight signal I am getting 108-144 Mbps (Local)/4-6 Mbps (Internet) on a good day, with occasional lag (unclear if due to wireless interference or adapter/PC issues).
The question: would I be better of with a USB3-compatible WiFi-USB adapter if the router stays the same (n)? Would a Powerline LAN setup (assume AV2, current gen) get me better speeds (assume the wiring is subpar)? Thanks

connection
Source Link
4004
  • 21
  • 4

In the process of upgrading/rebuilding the home PC, and most decent mobos have fancy Ethernet. My current setup uses a WiFi-USB2 adapter (Asus N14), due to poor choices and GPON Internet (ISP-mandated router/AP is an 802.11n Huawei). With no line-of-sight signal I am getting 108-144mbps (Local)/4-6mbps (Internet) on a good day, with occasional lag (unclear if due to wireless interference or adapter/PC issues).
The question: would I be better of with a USB3-compatible WiFi-USB adapter if the router stays the same (n)? Would a Powerline LAN setup (assume AV2, current gen) get me better speeds (assume the wiring is subpar)? Thanks

In the process of upgrading/rebuilding the home PC, and most decent mobos have fancy Ethernet. My current setup uses a WiFi-USB2 adapter (Asus N14), due to poor choices and GPON Internet (ISP-mandated router/AP is an 802.11n Huawei). With no line-of-sight signal I am getting 108-144mbps on a good day, with occasional lag (unclear if due to wireless interference or adapter/PC issues).
The question: would I be better of with a USB3-compatible WiFi-USB adapter if the router stays the same (n)? Would a Powerline LAN setup (assume AV2, current gen) get me better speeds (assume the wiring is subpar)? Thanks

In the process of upgrading/rebuilding the home PC, and most decent mobos have fancy Ethernet. My current setup uses a WiFi-USB2 adapter (Asus N14), due to poor choices and GPON Internet (ISP-mandated router/AP is an 802.11n Huawei). With no line-of-sight signal I am getting 108-144mbps (Local)/4-6mbps (Internet) on a good day, with occasional lag (unclear if due to wireless interference or adapter/PC issues).
The question: would I be better of with a USB3-compatible WiFi-USB adapter if the router stays the same (n)? Would a Powerline LAN setup (assume AV2, current gen) get me better speeds (assume the wiring is subpar)? Thanks

powerline details
Source Link
4004
  • 21
  • 4

In the process of upgrading/rebuilding the home PC, and most decent mobos have fancy Ethernet. My current setup uses a WiFi-USB2 adapter (Asus N14), due to poor choices and GPON Internet (ISP-mandated router/AP is an 802.11n Huawei). With no line-of-sight signal I am getting 108-144mbps on a good day, with occasional lag (unclear if due to wireless interference or adapter/PC issues).
The question: would I be better of with a USB3-compatible WiFi-USB adapter if the router stays the same (n)? Would a Powerline LAN setup get(assume AV2, current gen) get me better speeds (assume the wiring is subpar)? Thanks

In the process of upgrading/rebuilding the home PC, and most decent mobos have fancy Ethernet. My current setup uses a WiFi-USB2 adapter (Asus N14), due to poor choices and GPON Internet (ISP-mandated router/AP is an 802.11n Huawei). With no line-of-sight signal I am getting 108-144mbps on a good day, with occasional lag (unclear if due to wireless interference or adapter/PC issues).
The question: would I be better of with a USB3-compatible WiFi-USB adapter if the router stays the same (n)? Would a Powerline LAN setup get me better speeds (assume the wiring is subpar)? Thanks

In the process of upgrading/rebuilding the home PC, and most decent mobos have fancy Ethernet. My current setup uses a WiFi-USB2 adapter (Asus N14), due to poor choices and GPON Internet (ISP-mandated router/AP is an 802.11n Huawei). With no line-of-sight signal I am getting 108-144mbps on a good day, with occasional lag (unclear if due to wireless interference or adapter/PC issues).
The question: would I be better of with a USB3-compatible WiFi-USB adapter if the router stays the same (n)? Would a Powerline LAN setup (assume AV2, current gen) get me better speeds (assume the wiring is subpar)? Thanks

Source Link
4004
  • 21
  • 4
Loading