Skip to main content
deleted 508 characters in body
Source Link

I have a 4GB Virtual Machine file I'd like to get off of my computer entirely, and right now (at least till tomorrow) I have only an 8GB flash drive. According to the Windows 10 Storage Settings UI, the flash drive has used 320MB of 7.58GB.

However when I try to copy, I get:

The file 'box-disk1.vmdk' is too large for the destination file system.
box-disk1.vmdk
Type: Virtual Machine Disk Format
Size: 4.76GB

I cannot zip the file first either, since I only have 300MB left on my C drive, and when I try it says "The disk may be full"

Is there any solution to this with the resources I have today?

-- UPDATE --

The answer is yes, but just barely.

I first had to move the 320MB of files off of the desired USB flash drive, and since I had no disk space on C, moved it instead to another USB flash drive (that barely had room).

Then I followed (carefully) these directions: http://www.ntfs.com/quest22.htm

Then moved the 320M of files back to the new NTFS format, and then successfully copied over my Virtual Machine file.

Moral of the story: FAT32 takes a 4GB max file size, be careful

I have a 4GB Virtual Machine file I'd like to get off of my computer entirely, and right now (at least till tomorrow) I have only an 8GB flash drive. According to the Windows 10 Storage Settings UI, the flash drive has used 320MB of 7.58GB.

However when I try to copy, I get:

The file 'box-disk1.vmdk' is too large for the destination file system.
box-disk1.vmdk
Type: Virtual Machine Disk Format
Size: 4.76GB

I cannot zip the file first either, since I only have 300MB left on my C drive, and when I try it says "The disk may be full"

Is there any solution to this with the resources I have today?

-- UPDATE --

The answer is yes, but just barely.

I first had to move the 320MB of files off of the desired USB flash drive, and since I had no disk space on C, moved it instead to another USB flash drive (that barely had room).

Then I followed (carefully) these directions: http://www.ntfs.com/quest22.htm

Then moved the 320M of files back to the new NTFS format, and then successfully copied over my Virtual Machine file.

Moral of the story: FAT32 takes a 4GB max file size, be careful

I have a 4GB Virtual Machine file I'd like to get off of my computer entirely, and right now (at least till tomorrow) I have only an 8GB flash drive. According to the Windows 10 Storage Settings UI, the flash drive has used 320MB of 7.58GB.

However when I try to copy, I get:

The file 'box-disk1.vmdk' is too large for the destination file system.
box-disk1.vmdk
Type: Virtual Machine Disk Format
Size: 4.76GB

I cannot zip the file first either, since I only have 300MB left on my C drive, and when I try it says "The disk may be full"

Is there any solution to this with the resources I have today?

added 510 characters in body
Source Link

I have a 4GB Virtual Machine file I'd like to get off of my computer entirely, and right now (at least till tomorrow) I have only an 8GB flash drive. According to the Windows 10 Storage Settings UI, the flash drive has used 320MB of 7.58GB.

However when I try to copy, I get:

The file 'box-disk1.vmdk' is too large for the destination file system.
box-disk1.vmdk
Type: Virtual Machine Disk Format
Size: 4.76GB

I cannot zip the file first either, since I only have 300MB left on my C drive, and when I try it says "The disk may be full"

Is there any solution to this with the resources I have today?

-- UPDATE --

The answer is yes, but just barely.

I first had to move the 320MB of files off of the desired USB flash drive, and since I had no disk space on C, moved it instead to another USB flash drive (that barely had room).

Then I followed (carefully) these directions: http://www.ntfs.com/quest22.htm

Then moved the 320M of files back to the new NTFS format, and then successfully copied over my Virtual Machine file.

Moral of the story: FAT32 takes a 4GB max file size, be careful

I have a 4GB Virtual Machine file I'd like to get off of my computer entirely, and right now (at least till tomorrow) I have only an 8GB flash drive. According to the Windows 10 Storage Settings UI, the flash drive has used 320MB of 7.58GB.

However when I try to copy, I get:

The file 'box-disk1.vmdk' is too large for the destination file system.
box-disk1.vmdk
Type: Virtual Machine Disk Format
Size: 4.76GB

I cannot zip the file first either, since I only have 300MB left on my C drive, and when I try it says "The disk may be full"

Is there any solution to this with the resources I have today?

I have a 4GB Virtual Machine file I'd like to get off of my computer entirely, and right now (at least till tomorrow) I have only an 8GB flash drive. According to the Windows 10 Storage Settings UI, the flash drive has used 320MB of 7.58GB.

However when I try to copy, I get:

The file 'box-disk1.vmdk' is too large for the destination file system.
box-disk1.vmdk
Type: Virtual Machine Disk Format
Size: 4.76GB

I cannot zip the file first either, since I only have 300MB left on my C drive, and when I try it says "The disk may be full"

Is there any solution to this with the resources I have today?

-- UPDATE --

The answer is yes, but just barely.

I first had to move the 320MB of files off of the desired USB flash drive, and since I had no disk space on C, moved it instead to another USB flash drive (that barely had room).

Then I followed (carefully) these directions: http://www.ntfs.com/quest22.htm

Then moved the 320M of files back to the new NTFS format, and then successfully copied over my Virtual Machine file.

Moral of the story: FAT32 takes a 4GB max file size, be careful

Source Link

unable to copy 4GB file from Windows 10 to Flash Drive though there is room

I have a 4GB Virtual Machine file I'd like to get off of my computer entirely, and right now (at least till tomorrow) I have only an 8GB flash drive. According to the Windows 10 Storage Settings UI, the flash drive has used 320MB of 7.58GB.

However when I try to copy, I get:

The file 'box-disk1.vmdk' is too large for the destination file system.
box-disk1.vmdk
Type: Virtual Machine Disk Format
Size: 4.76GB

I cannot zip the file first either, since I only have 300MB left on my C drive, and when I try it says "The disk may be full"

Is there any solution to this with the resources I have today?