Skip to main content
Removed the picture hyperlinks and inserted the actual photographs.
Source Link

I have spent the last 3 days banging my head against a wall trying to get a RAID 1 setup working on my Windows machine. I have finally gotten the hardware RAID drivers setup (loaded them during an OS reinstall), and have partitioned my two drives for the RAID in my BIOS raid utility.

I booted up Windows and noticed the drives didn't show up. Duh, I need to format them to NTFS.

First I went to the Device Manager and saw this:

http://imgur.com/B5pb3seDevice Manager

Good, the OS sees one logical drive.

Then I go to check it out on the Disk Management tool and it says "Hey this tool can't look at one of your drives until it is formatted. Want to do that now?" I say sure and it is off to the races:

http://imgur.com/vHtvsxiComputer Management

But now I am worried that I am doing something wrong. This utility never said anything about this being a RAID drive. Does it need to know that information? Does the RAID driver on my mobo know to format both drives? I did a full format on them, so I still have a good chunk of time before I get to see the results. But even if nothing seems to be wrong at first, I am worried this will bite me down the road. I am brannndbrand new to RAID entirely, so I really have no clue what I am doing here.

I have spent the last 3 days banging my head against a wall trying to get a RAID 1 setup working on my Windows machine. I have finally gotten the hardware RAID drivers setup (loaded them during an OS reinstall), and have partitioned my two drives for the RAID in my BIOS raid utility.

I booted up Windows and noticed the drives didn't show up. Duh, I need to format them to NTFS.

First I went to the Device Manager and saw this:

http://imgur.com/B5pb3se

Good, the OS sees one logical drive.

Then I go to check it out on the Disk Management tool and it says "Hey this tool can't look at one of your drives until it is formatted. Want to do that now?" I say sure and it is off to the races:

http://imgur.com/vHtvsxi

But now I am worried that I am doing something wrong. This utility never said anything about this being a RAID drive. Does it need to know that information? Does the RAID driver on my mobo know to format both drives? I did a full format on them, so I still have a good chunk of time before I get to see the results. But even if nothing seems to be wrong at first, I am worried this will bite me down the road. I am brannnd new to RAID entirely, so I really have no clue what I am doing here.

I have spent the last 3 days banging my head against a wall trying to get a RAID 1 setup working on my Windows machine. I have finally gotten the hardware RAID drivers setup (loaded them during an OS reinstall), and have partitioned my two drives for the RAID in my BIOS raid utility.

I booted up Windows and noticed the drives didn't show up. Duh, I need to format them to NTFS.

First I went to the Device Manager and saw this:

Device Manager

Good, the OS sees one logical drive.

Then I go to check it out on the Disk Management tool and it says "Hey this tool can't look at one of your drives until it is formatted. Want to do that now?" I say sure and it is off to the races:

Computer Management

But now I am worried that I am doing something wrong. This utility never said anything about this being a RAID drive. Does it need to know that information? Does the RAID driver on my mobo know to format both drives? I did a full format on them, so I still have a good chunk of time before I get to see the results. But even if nothing seems to be wrong at first, I am worried this will bite me down the road. I am brand new to RAID entirely, so I really have no clue what I am doing here.

Source Link

Can I safely use the Windows 7 Disk Management tool to format my hardware RAID 1 setup?

I have spent the last 3 days banging my head against a wall trying to get a RAID 1 setup working on my Windows machine. I have finally gotten the hardware RAID drivers setup (loaded them during an OS reinstall), and have partitioned my two drives for the RAID in my BIOS raid utility.

I booted up Windows and noticed the drives didn't show up. Duh, I need to format them to NTFS.

First I went to the Device Manager and saw this:

http://imgur.com/B5pb3se

Good, the OS sees one logical drive.

Then I go to check it out on the Disk Management tool and it says "Hey this tool can't look at one of your drives until it is formatted. Want to do that now?" I say sure and it is off to the races:

http://imgur.com/vHtvsxi

But now I am worried that I am doing something wrong. This utility never said anything about this being a RAID drive. Does it need to know that information? Does the RAID driver on my mobo know to format both drives? I did a full format on them, so I still have a good chunk of time before I get to see the results. But even if nothing seems to be wrong at first, I am worried this will bite me down the road. I am brannnd new to RAID entirely, so I really have no clue what I am doing here.