Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
Journeyman Geek
  • 130.3k
  • 52
  • 272
  • 443
Source Link
AnoE
  • 921
  • 6
  • 12

Replacing pre-installed windows (Lenovo G70)

I would like to completely reinstall (including repartitioning) a Lenovo G70-35 laptop for a family member. The laptop is freshly bought, and all the superfluous stuff should go. I admit that I am more of a Windows7 (and Unix) guy myself, my own boxes are streamlined installations and do more or less what I want them to, not what they want. I did install Win10 a few times in the past to upgrade some older Windows keys, but didn't touch it since then. That in mind:

  • I recovered the Win10 license of the laptop using one of those tools that de-base64 the registry. I assume there is no trouble whatsoever reinstalling using a CD/DVD created with the MS Media Creation Tool and that key, right? That said, I guess it won't prompt me for the license key anyways as it's stored in the UEFI BIOS?
  • Is anything from the Lenovo software on that laptop of any essential use? I.e., is there anything that cannot easily be replaced and that is really needed to use the laptop? Their support site seems to have a rather complete collection of drivers. I don't need anything else of what I saw, e.g. backups will be done some other way anyways.
  • Is there any particular reason why I would create some kind of Lenovo recovery media (if that is possible, I didn't check into it so far) to restore the Laptop to factory settings (including redoing the partitioning scheme it comes with, which includes several invisible/recovery partitions)? I am 100% sure that neither I nor the user of the laptop have any interest whatsoever in the Lenovo addons.
  • The user of the laptop is nontechnical and not interested in anything except the actual software he uses. Is there anything I can do during installation to reduce any nagging or intrusive behaviour of the OS? I don't want Cortana to pop up, apps to advertise themselves, and so on.