Skip to main content
edited title
Link
Ƭᴇcʜιᴇ007
  • 113.2k
  • 19
  • 203
  • 270

Windows 10: Access denied for newly created folder, unable to change permissions

deleted duliplicated text, now images are inlined
Source Link

I just created a new folder: C:\Projects\API from the Command Prompt, using mkdir API from within the projects folder, after deleting an old folder of the same name, using: RMDIR API /S.

I then attempted to access the API folder from the same Command Prompt window, which resulted in the error:

Access is denied.

I closed down the Command Prompt window and reopened as administrator. Same issue.

I then opened Windows Explorer, right-clicked on the folder and selected Project Properties, followed by Security. The linked screen appeared:

No permissions

Showing no permissions. When I click the Advanced button, I see a screen:

No permissions

Saying:

Unable to display current owner

And:

You must have Read permissions to view the properties of this object.

Click Continue to attempt the operation with administrative privileges.

When I click either the Change button, to change ownership, or the Continue button, I get a third screen, saying:

You do not have permission to view or edit this object's permission settings.

I just created a new folder: C:\Projects\API from the Command Prompt, using mkdir API from within the projects folder, after deleting an old folder of the same name, using: RMDIR API /S.

I then attempted to access the API folder from the same Command Prompt window, which resulted in the error:

Access is denied.

I closed down the Command Prompt window and reopened as administrator. Same issue.

I then opened Windows Explorer, right-clicked on the folder and selected Project Properties, followed by Security. The linked screen appeared:

No permissions

Showing no permissions. When I click the Advanced button, I see a screen:

No permissions

Saying:

Unable to display current owner

And:

You must have Read permissions to view the properties of this object.

Click Continue to attempt the operation with administrative privileges.

When I click either the Change button, to change ownership, or the Continue button, I get a third screen, saying:

You do not have permission to view or edit this object's permission settings.

I just created a new folder: C:\Projects\API from the Command Prompt, using mkdir API from within the projects folder, after deleting an old folder of the same name, using: RMDIR API /S.

I then attempted to access the API folder from the same Command Prompt window, which resulted in the error:

Access is denied.

I closed down the Command Prompt window and reopened as administrator. Same issue.

I then opened Windows Explorer, right-clicked on the folder and selected Project Properties, followed by Security. The linked screen appeared:

No permissions

Showing no permissions. When I click the Advanced button, I see a screen:

No permissions

When I click either the Change button, to change ownership, or the Continue button, I get a third screen, saying:

You do not have permission to view or edit this object's permission settings.
deleted 6 characters in body
Source Link
Leo Chapiro
  • 15.6k
  • 5
  • 43
  • 45

I just created a new folder: C:\Projects\API from the Command Prompt, using mkdir API from within the projects folder, after deleting an old folder of the same name, using: RMDIR API /S.

I then attempted to access the API folder from the same Command Prompt window, which resulted in the error:

Access is denied.

I closed down the Command Prompt window and reopened as administrator. Same issue.

I then opened Windows Explorer, right-clicked on the folder and selected Project Properties, followed by Security. The linked screen appeared:

No permissions: Screen 1No permissions

Showing no permissions. When I click the Advanced button, I see a screen:

No permissions: Screen 2No permissions

Saying:

Unable to display current owner

And:

You must have Read permissions to view the properties of this object.

Click Continue to attempt the operation with administrative privileges.

When I click either the Change button, to change ownership, or the Continue button, I get a third screen, saying:

You do not have permission to view or edit this object's permission settings.

I just created a new folder: C:\Projects\API from the Command Prompt, using mkdir API from within the projects folder, after deleting an old folder of the same name, using: RMDIR API /S.

I then attempted to access the API folder from the same Command Prompt window, which resulted in the error:

Access is denied.

I closed down the Command Prompt window and reopened as administrator. Same issue.

I then opened Windows Explorer, right-clicked on the folder and selected Project Properties, followed by Security. The linked screen appeared:

No permissions: Screen 1

Showing no permissions. When I click the Advanced button, I see a screen:

No permissions: Screen 2

Saying:

Unable to display current owner

And:

You must have Read permissions to view the properties of this object.

Click Continue to attempt the operation with administrative privileges.

When I click either the Change button, to change ownership, or the Continue button, I get a third screen, saying:

You do not have permission to view or edit this object's permission settings.

I just created a new folder: C:\Projects\API from the Command Prompt, using mkdir API from within the projects folder, after deleting an old folder of the same name, using: RMDIR API /S.

I then attempted to access the API folder from the same Command Prompt window, which resulted in the error:

Access is denied.

I closed down the Command Prompt window and reopened as administrator. Same issue.

I then opened Windows Explorer, right-clicked on the folder and selected Project Properties, followed by Security. The linked screen appeared:

No permissions

Showing no permissions. When I click the Advanced button, I see a screen:

No permissions

Saying:

Unable to display current owner

And:

You must have Read permissions to view the properties of this object.

Click Continue to attempt the operation with administrative privileges.

When I click either the Change button, to change ownership, or the Continue button, I get a third screen, saying:

You do not have permission to view or edit this object's permission settings.
added 2 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
added 2 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
Source Link
Loading