Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/787978053578285057
added 109 characters in body
Source Link
RandomUser
  • 365
  • 2
  • 4
  • 14

I have an excel file (.xls) with macro, which was not created created by me. I pressed Alt+F11 and tried to expand the VBA project but I am prompted with "Enter Password" popup. Also the macro seems to work.

On the other hand I have another macro enabled excel (.xlsm) I am not able to save this file as .xls and retain the macros as well.

Can this be done? Convert the file to .xls with macros enabled?

I have both MS Office 2010 as well as MS Office 2016 versions.

I want the file to be in .xls file format for my file handling library NPOI can read and write into the file from my ASP.net MVC application. I am not allowed to go for another library which can handle .xlsm files.

Warning I faced: enter image description here

I have an excel file (.xls) with macro, which was not created created by me. I pressed Alt+F11 and tried to expand the VBA project but I am prompted with "Enter Password" popup. Also the macro seems to work.

On the other hand I have another macro enabled excel (.xlsm) I am not able to save this file as .xls and retain the macros as well.

Can this be done? Convert the file to .xls with macros enabled?

I have both MS Office 2010 as well as MS Office 2016 versions.

I want the file to be in .xls file format for my file handling library NPOI can read and write into the file from my ASP.net MVC application. I am not allowed to go for another library which can handle .xlsm files.

I have an excel file (.xls) with macro, which was not created created by me. I pressed Alt+F11 and tried to expand the VBA project but I am prompted with "Enter Password" popup. Also the macro seems to work.

On the other hand I have another macro enabled excel (.xlsm) I am not able to save this file as .xls and retain the macros as well.

Can this be done? Convert the file to .xls with macros enabled?

I have both MS Office 2010 as well as MS Office 2016 versions.

I want the file to be in .xls file format for my file handling library NPOI can read and write into the file from my ASP.net MVC application. I am not allowed to go for another library which can handle .xlsm files.

Warning I faced: enter image description here

edited title
Link
Daniel B
  • 63.9k
  • 9
  • 128
  • 176

How to create macro enabledconvert .xlsm to .xls filewithout losing macros?

Source Link
RandomUser
  • 365
  • 2
  • 4
  • 14

How to create macro enabled .xls file

I have an excel file (.xls) with macro, which was not created created by me. I pressed Alt+F11 and tried to expand the VBA project but I am prompted with "Enter Password" popup. Also the macro seems to work.

On the other hand I have another macro enabled excel (.xlsm) I am not able to save this file as .xls and retain the macros as well.

Can this be done? Convert the file to .xls with macros enabled?

I have both MS Office 2010 as well as MS Office 2016 versions.

I want the file to be in .xls file format for my file handling library NPOI can read and write into the file from my ASP.net MVC application. I am not allowed to go for another library which can handle .xlsm files.