Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • I appreciate the answer. I am hoping someone will find a work-around. I do have UPS power supplies and the computer gets a signal to shut down if power is lost but I don't want the computer to update in that situation. I want it to shut down normally.
    – wbeard52
    Commented Oct 1, 2016 at 18:29
  • 1
    Option #2 is really interesting. However, it only prevents the updates from downloading, not from installing.
    – Bryce
    Commented Oct 2, 2016 at 0:28
  • 1
    @Bryce - Yes, it basically allows you to control when to download such updates (a precursor to installing them) and thereby install them afterwards with a reboot, etc. This gives you a halfway workaround or some control to do this operation at your convenience, or when no inclement weather, etc. is on the forecast. Commented Oct 2, 2016 at 4:18
  • "Rightfully" is definitely not the right adjective to use in regards to your OS forcing you to install something, and the very reason so many people choose to not use this particular OS. If I want my PC to have unpatched security updates, then that is my prerogative, and I should not have to jump through hoops just to turn my PC off without them. Security updates are no exception. Commented Feb 18, 2021 at 4:46
  • @DrinkMorePimpJuiceIT I typically only use Windows for development code, but my comment had nothing to do with security or lack thereof. It was about OS design-choices that take control from the user, and enforce a behavior that in many cases is not desired, and then making in extremely unfriendly to a user who wants to change that behavior. The fact that it is security-related is irrelevant. Preventing a user from simply shutting down their system when they want is inexcusable for any and all possible reasons. Commented Feb 18, 2021 at 8:10