Skip to main content

Timeline for Reclaiming disk space on Windows

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 3, 2013 at 11:00 history edited oKtosiTe CC BY-SA 3.0
Replaced Softpedia link with link to actual homepage of the software
Sep 2, 2011 at 3:46 history edited Gareth CC BY-SA 3.0
reupload image
Feb 26, 2010 at 2:24 comment added nik @Molly, that is fine, I am sure others will reach here looking for this information :-) somehow I managed to be less clear on what I wanted with this question. Now that you know what I want, maybe you can look for suitable answers and add them as another post here...
Feb 25, 2010 at 2:21 comment added Molly7244 @nik - sorry, i stumbled over this gem today and i thought i post it at SU, your thread happened to be the first hit when i was searching for an appropriate place to post. :)
Feb 25, 2010 at 2:15 comment added nik To taken another view from your answer, the picture from the tool tells me that the system has a 1GB Page file and some 686 KB in Recycle bin. I could use that to decide if I want to change these things to make more space (or, maybe give some more space to Windows).
Feb 25, 2010 at 2:11 comment added nik @Molly, This looks like another nice tool to check disk utilization. It seems that even after answering my own question here with a sample, there is a general misinterpretation: I am not looking for tools to tell me my disk utilization. I am interested in known ways to identify wasted disk space and maybe tools that will tell me about other places my disk space is wasted by the Windows System itself. These disk utilization tools typically tell me how 'I' have 'wasted' the disk space -- which is a rather subjective detail :)
Feb 24, 2010 at 15:30 history answered Molly7244 CC BY-SA 2.5