Skip to main content
edited body
Source Link
karel
  • 13.5k
  • 26
  • 47
  • 54

I seek help on my issue regarding removing Kali Linux from a dual boot with Windows 8.1.

These are the steps I followed to remove Kali Linux:

  1. Boot into Windows 8.1
  2. Delete the Kali Linux partition
  3. Extend the Windows 8.1 partition
  4. Reboot

After rebooting, grub rescue appeared.

I then booted my Windows 8.1 iso via USB (Using YUMI) and runran bootrec command. However for:

bootrec /fixmbr

  successful

and after reboot, grub rescue was still there.

bootrec /fixboot

  element not found 

bootrec /rebuildbcd

  element not found

Then I tried to go to Diskpart and tried to set the partition to Active, but the output states that the partition is currently ACTIVE.

I even tried to command in grub rescue

ls
(hd0) (hd0,msdos1) (hd0,msdos2) 
set boot=(hd0,msdos2)
set prefix=(hd0,msdos2)/grub/boot
isnmod normal

error: unknown filesystem

normal

Unknown command 'normal'

Now I can still access my Windows 8.1 after booting into Super Grub2 Disk and boot Windows 8.1, but how should I fix it or remove grub?

I seek help on my issue regarding removing Kali Linux from a dual boot with Windows 8.1.

These are the steps I followed to remove Kali Linux:

  1. Boot into Windows 8.1
  2. Delete the Kali Linux partition
  3. Extend the Windows 8.1 partition
  4. Reboot

After rebooting, grub rescue appeared.

I then booted my Windows 8.1 iso via USB (Using YUMI) and run bootrec command. However for:

bootrec /fixmbr

  successful

and after reboot, grub rescue was still there.

bootrec /fixboot

  element not found 

bootrec /rebuildbcd

  element not found

Then I tried to go to Diskpart and tried to set the partition to Active, but the output states that the partition is currently ACTIVE.

I even tried to command in grub rescue

ls
(hd0) (hd0,msdos1) (hd0,msdos2) 
set boot=(hd0,msdos2)
set prefix=(hd0,msdos2)/grub/boot
isnmod normal

error: unknown filesystem

normal

Unknown command 'normal'

Now I can still access my Windows 8.1 after booting into Super Grub2 Disk and boot Windows 8.1, but how should I fix it or remove grub?

I seek help on my issue regarding removing Kali Linux from a dual boot with Windows 8.1.

These are the steps I followed to remove Kali Linux:

  1. Boot into Windows 8.1
  2. Delete the Kali Linux partition
  3. Extend the Windows 8.1 partition
  4. Reboot

After rebooting, grub rescue appeared.

I then booted my Windows 8.1 iso via USB (Using YUMI) and ran bootrec command. However for:

bootrec /fixmbr

  successful

and after reboot, grub rescue was still there.

bootrec /fixboot

  element not found 

bootrec /rebuildbcd

  element not found

Then I tried to go to Diskpart and tried to set the partition to Active, but the output states that the partition is currently ACTIVE.

I even tried to command in grub rescue

ls
(hd0) (hd0,msdos1) (hd0,msdos2) 
set boot=(hd0,msdos2)
set prefix=(hd0,msdos2)/grub/boot
isnmod normal

error: unknown filesystem

normal

Unknown command 'normal'

Now I can still access my Windows 8.1 after booting into Super Grub2 Disk and boot Windows 8.1, but how should I fix it or remove grub?

Corrected spelling, fixed grammar, improved formatting
Source Link
karel
  • 13.5k
  • 26
  • 47
  • 54

Grub Rescuerescue after deletedeleting Kali Linux partition, tried bootrec diskpart and insmod normal not working

I would seek for help on my issue regarding removing Kali linuxLinux from Duala dual boot with Windows 8.1. This is

These are the steps how I followed to remove Kali Linux:

  1. Boot into Windows 8.1
  2. Delete the partition for Kali Linux partition
  3. Extend the partition for Windows 8.1 partition
  4. Reboot

After rebootedrebooting, Grub Rescuegrub rescue appeared.

I then bootbooted my windowsWindows 8.1 iso via USB (Using YumiYUMI) and run Bootrecbootrec command. However for:

bootrec /fixmbr

successful

bootrec /fixmbr

  successful

and after reboot, grub rescue was still there.

bootrec /fixboot

element not found

bootrec /rebuildbcd

element not found

bootrec /fixboot

  element not found 

bootrec /rebuildbcd

  element not found

Then I trytried to go to Diskpart and trytried to set the partition to Active, but the output statestates that the partition is currently ACTIVE.

I even tried to command in grub rescue

ls

(hd0) (hd0,msdos1) (hd0,msdos2)

set boot=(hd0,msdos2)

set prefix=(hd0,msdos2)/grub/boot

isnmod normal

error: unknown filesystem

normal

Unknown command 'normal'.

ls
(hd0) (hd0,msdos1) (hd0,msdos2) 
set boot=(hd0,msdos2)
set prefix=(hd0,msdos2)/grub/boot
isnmod normal

error: unknown filesystem

normal

Unknown command 'normal'

Now I can still access my Windows 8.1 after booting into Super Grub2 Disk and boot Windows 8.1, but how should I fix it or remove the grub?

Grub Rescue after delete Kali partition, tried bootrec diskpart and insmod normal not working

I would seek for help on my issue regarding removing Kali linux from Dual boot with Windows 8.1. This is the steps how I remove Kali:

  1. Boot into Windows 8.1
  2. Delete the partition for Kali
  3. Extend the partition for Windows 8.1
  4. Reboot

After rebooted, Grub Rescue appeared.

I then boot my windows 8.1 iso via USB (Using Yumi) and run Bootrec command. However for

bootrec /fixmbr

successful

and after reboot, grub rescue still there

bootrec /fixboot

element not found

bootrec /rebuildbcd

element not found

Then I try to go to Diskpart and try to set the partition to Active but the output state that the partition is currently ACTIVE

I even tried to command in grub rescue

ls

(hd0) (hd0,msdos1) (hd0,msdos2)

set boot=(hd0,msdos2)

set prefix=(hd0,msdos2)/grub/boot

isnmod normal

error: unknown filesystem

normal

Unknown command 'normal'.

Now I can still access my Windows 8.1 after booting into Super Grub2 Disk and boot Windows 8.1 but how should I fix it or remove the grub?

Grub rescue after deleting Kali Linux partition, tried bootrec diskpart and insmod normal not working

I seek help on my issue regarding removing Kali Linux from a dual boot with Windows 8.1.

These are the steps I followed to remove Kali Linux:

  1. Boot into Windows 8.1
  2. Delete the Kali Linux partition
  3. Extend the Windows 8.1 partition
  4. Reboot

After rebooting, grub rescue appeared.

I then booted my Windows 8.1 iso via USB (Using YUMI) and run bootrec command. However for:

bootrec /fixmbr

  successful

and after reboot, grub rescue was still there.

bootrec /fixboot

  element not found 

bootrec /rebuildbcd

  element not found

Then I tried to go to Diskpart and tried to set the partition to Active, but the output states that the partition is currently ACTIVE.

I even tried to command in grub rescue

ls
(hd0) (hd0,msdos1) (hd0,msdos2) 
set boot=(hd0,msdos2)
set prefix=(hd0,msdos2)/grub/boot
isnmod normal

error: unknown filesystem

normal

Unknown command 'normal'

Now I can still access my Windows 8.1 after booting into Super Grub2 Disk and boot Windows 8.1, but how should I fix it or remove grub?

Source Link

Grub Rescue after delete Kali partition, tried bootrec diskpart and insmod normal not working

I would seek for help on my issue regarding removing Kali linux from Dual boot with Windows 8.1. This is the steps how I remove Kali:

  1. Boot into Windows 8.1
  2. Delete the partition for Kali
  3. Extend the partition for Windows 8.1
  4. Reboot

After rebooted, Grub Rescue appeared.

I then boot my windows 8.1 iso via USB (Using Yumi) and run Bootrec command. However for

bootrec /fixmbr

successful

and after reboot, grub rescue still there

bootrec /fixboot

element not found

bootrec /rebuildbcd

element not found

Then I try to go to Diskpart and try to set the partition to Active but the output state that the partition is currently ACTIVE

I even tried to command in grub rescue

ls

(hd0) (hd0,msdos1) (hd0,msdos2)

set boot=(hd0,msdos2)

set prefix=(hd0,msdos2)/grub/boot

isnmod normal

error: unknown filesystem

normal

Unknown command 'normal'.

Now I can still access my Windows 8.1 after booting into Super Grub2 Disk and boot Windows 8.1 but how should I fix it or remove the grub?