Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

15
  • 3
    @Don'tRoothereplz... - Nope. Cortana might request it. OneDrive might request it. The reason for that request is understandable, if you want to use either feature, a Microsoft Account is required. I used a local account, on Windows 10 for an entire year and half, which means I did so on every released version of Windows 10 (RTM, Version 1511, and Version 1607).
    – Ramhound
    Commented Sep 12, 2016 at 17:03
  • 2
    @Don'tRoothereplz... I'm not trying to experience all features completely. I wish to customize Windows as much as I can to do what I need. I do not need my Microsoft account attached to my workstation. What I am looking for is how to use REGEDIT to disable this notification. Commented Sep 12, 2016 at 17:46
  • 1
    @Ramhound I'm pretty sure it isn't a bug, but that's not what I'm implying. I'm implying that it is an annoying notification that Microsoft pushes, so that I'm inclined to connect my Microsoft account to my account. I do not with to connect it, ever, so I wish to disable the notification through REGEDIT. Commented Sep 12, 2016 at 17:49
  • 1
    @Argonauts I have a traditional product key. I understand that I do not need to have MS account attached my local account. I do not have a MS account attached to my local account. I would like to know how to disable the notification that is pushing me to connect my local account to my MS account. Commented Sep 12, 2016 at 18:44
  • 2
    @Argonauts - "If you installed windows 10 using the free upgrade program your license is tied to your MS account." - This is false. This is only true if you, choose to allow this to happen, and only if your using Version 1607. "The former requires that the linked MS account be on the system" - False; I ran my numerous Windows 10 machines without attaching my local profile to a Microsoft Account, and all those installations, were upgraded from the offer. My parents, have machines, both use local accounts. Where are people getting this bad information from exactly?
    – Ramhound
    Commented Sep 12, 2016 at 21:27