Skip to main content
added 1 character in body
Source Link

Thanks all, I figured my answer. What I needed was an ARP-Proxy on my router one at eth1.

My problem was that my modem even though it was configured as "Bridge" wasn't a real bridge. For some reason the modem wasn't forwarding all traffic to my router.

It was only forwarding traffic with a dst-address=10.0.0.2 since 10.0.0.2 was actually up on interface=eth1. So because the 10.0.0.2 address was setted up on an interface the router was answering arp requestbrodcast from the modem concerning who has 10.0.0.2 with hes own mac address making traffic dst to 10.0.0.2 flow to him.

The problem was no traffic was flowing to my router1 with dst-address 10.0.0.3 or 10.0.0.4 so because of that my router coud not route packet to router2 or router3

So thats where to arp-proxy come in.

After I setted ether1 from router1 to arp-proxy once the interface see that it just sended a packet to the internet with a src-address not seen before say 10.0.0.4, it will answer ARP brodcast asking who has 10.0.0.4 reply to 10.0.0.1 with my first router mac address. Only from then on my router1 will start receiving traffic destinated to 10.0.0.4 and route it toward him.

Thanks all, I figured my answer. What I needed was an ARP-Proxy on my router one at eth1.

My problem was that my modem even though it was configured as "Bridge" wasn't a real bridge. For some reason the modem wasn't forwarding all traffic to my router.

It was only forwarding traffic with a dst-address=10.0.0.2 since 10.0.0.2 was actually up on interface=eth1. So because the 10.0.0.2 address was setted up on an interface the router was answering arp request from the modem concerning who has 10.0.0.2 with hes own mac address making traffic dst to 10.0.0.2 flow to him.

The problem was no traffic was flowing to my router1 with dst-address 10.0.0.3 or 10.0.0.4 so because of that my router coud not route packet to router2 or router3

So thats where to arp-proxy come in.

After I setted ether1 from router1 to arp-proxy once the interface see that it just sended a packet to the internet with a src-address not seen before say 10.0.0.4, it will answer ARP brodcast asking who has 10.0.0.4 reply to 10.0.0.1 with my first router mac address. Only from then on my router1 will start receiving traffic destinated to 10.0.0.4 and route it toward him.

Thanks all, I figured my answer. What I needed was an ARP-Proxy on my router one at eth1.

My problem was that my modem even though it was configured as "Bridge" wasn't a real bridge. For some reason the modem wasn't forwarding all traffic to my router.

It was only forwarding traffic with a dst-address=10.0.0.2 since 10.0.0.2 was actually up on interface=eth1. So because the 10.0.0.2 address was setted up on an interface the router was answering arp brodcast from the modem concerning who has 10.0.0.2 with hes own mac address making traffic dst to 10.0.0.2 flow to him.

The problem was no traffic was flowing to my router1 with dst-address 10.0.0.3 or 10.0.0.4 so because of that my router coud not route packet to router2 or router3

So thats where to arp-proxy come in.

After I setted ether1 from router1 to arp-proxy once the interface see that it just sended a packet to the internet with a src-address not seen before say 10.0.0.4, it will answer ARP brodcast asking who has 10.0.0.4 reply to 10.0.0.1 with my first router mac address. Only from then on my router1 will start receiving traffic destinated to 10.0.0.4 and route it toward him.

Source Link

Thanks all, I figured my answer. What I needed was an ARP-Proxy on my router one at eth1.

My problem was that my modem even though it was configured as "Bridge" wasn't a real bridge. For some reason the modem wasn't forwarding all traffic to my router.

It was only forwarding traffic with a dst-address=10.0.0.2 since 10.0.0.2 was actually up on interface=eth1. So because the 10.0.0.2 address was setted up on an interface the router was answering arp request from the modem concerning who has 10.0.0.2 with hes own mac address making traffic dst to 10.0.0.2 flow to him.

The problem was no traffic was flowing to my router1 with dst-address 10.0.0.3 or 10.0.0.4 so because of that my router coud not route packet to router2 or router3

So thats where to arp-proxy come in.

After I setted ether1 from router1 to arp-proxy once the interface see that it just sended a packet to the internet with a src-address not seen before say 10.0.0.4, it will answer ARP brodcast asking who has 10.0.0.4 reply to 10.0.0.1 with my first router mac address. Only from then on my router1 will start receiving traffic destinated to 10.0.0.4 and route it toward him.