Skip to main content
Removed obsolete tag
Link
Burgi
  • 6.6k
  • 14
  • 40
  • 52

Mac MAC Address NatNAT-ing is it possible?

Everyone ImI'm not very knowledgeable with networking, so what imI'm asking might make no sense at all,. I would really apreciate if you guys couldappreciate help to point me in the right dirrectiondirection.

So hereHere is my situation. ( II used local IP for representation only  ).

My network So, 

I have a /29 network given from my ispISP and I wantedwant to have internet aat a remote location that i hadI have no line of sight for point to point-to-point wireless. However, So I have a friend between the two place wich i said ilplaces. I offered my friend: I'll give you internet if iI can havelocate an antenna at your place.

So at the moment what iWhat I am doing is basicly natbasically NAT-ing everything at my first router after the modem. But and I basically bridged all antennathe antennas together. witch work, which works okay.

  But now idI'd like to give the external ipIP directly to my friend and the remote location, Soso my friend can port forward on itshis own.

So now il explainHere's my problem. The The modem is in "Bridge Mode" but when I use wiresharkWireshark on eth1 of my router. I, I can only see traffic that my interface has an ipIP for, and some arp request who hasARP requests for XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX replyand replies to XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX, So im. I'm under the impresionimpression that I really need an ipIP on the eth1 interface Eth1 of my first router for it to send back an arpARP so the modem knowknows my macMAC address. Because, because as soon as I add the address on the interface traffic startstarts to come in. What i

What I was expecting to see was. Traffic traffic coming to my interface no matermatter what if. If I have an IP on it and then if iI had only then my router would ping back to the internet since the ipIP is on the interface.

So since i dontI don't have any traffic coming to the interface iI can't route packetpackets to be sent to an otheranother interface since I basicly never receive any traffic.

So my question is,.: Is there some kind of macMAC address nattingNAT-ing possible on MikroTik? Or maybe iI got this all wrong and I should do it in an otheranother way.

Also I forgot to say. Id, I'd like to stay away from bridging all togetheraltogether since traffic would be pretty high from my first location, and my friend Id and I would like the traffic to be routed.

Thanks for your time and answer! :)

Mac Address Nat-ing is it possible?

Everyone Im not very knowledgeable with networking, so what im asking might make no sense at all, I would really apreciate if you guys could point me in the right dirrection.

So here is my situation. ( I used local IP for representation only  )

My network So, I have a /29 network given from my isp and I wanted to have internet a a remote location that i had no line of sight for point to point wireless, So I have a friend between the two place wich i said il give you internet if i can have an antenna at your place.

So at the moment what i am doing is basicly nat-ing everything at my first router after the modem. But and I basically bridged all antenna together. witch work okay.

  But now id like to give the external ip directly to my friend and the remote location, So my friend can port forward on its own.

So now il explain my problem. The modem is in "Bridge Mode" but when I use wireshark on eth1 of my router. I can only see traffic that my interface has an ip for and some arp request who has XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX reply to XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX, So im under the impresion that I really need an ip on the interface Eth1 of my first router for it to send back an arp so the modem know my mac address. Because as soon as I add the address on the interface traffic start to come in. What i was expecting to see was. Traffic coming to my interface no mater what if I have an IP on it and then if i had only then my router would ping back to the internet since the ip is on the interface.

So since i dont have any traffic coming to the interface i can't route packet to be sent to an other interface since I basicly never receive any traffic.

So my question is,. Is there some kind of mac address natting possible on MikroTik? Or maybe i got this all wrong and I should do in an other way.

Also I forgot to say. Id like to stay away from bridging all together since traffic would be pretty high from my first location and my friend Id like the traffic to be routed.

Thanks for your time and answer! :)

MAC Address NAT-ing is it possible?

I'm not very knowledgeable with networking, so what I'm asking might make no sense at all. I would appreciate help to point me in the right direction.

Here is my situation (I used local IP for representation only).

My network 

I have a /29 network from my ISP and I want to have internet at a remote location that I have no line of sight for point-to-point wireless. However, I have a friend between the two places. I offered my friend: I'll give you internet if I can locate an antenna at your place.

What I am doing is basically NAT-ing everything at my first router after the modem. I bridged all the antennas together, which works okay. But now I'd like to give the external IP directly to my friend and the remote location, so my friend can port forward on his own.

Here's my problem. The modem is in "Bridge Mode" but when I use Wireshark on eth1 of my router, I can only see traffic that my interface has an IP for, and some ARP requests for XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX and replies to XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX. I'm under the impression that I need an IP on the eth1 interface of my first router for it to send back an ARP so the modem knows my MAC address, because as soon as I add the address on the interface traffic starts to come in.

What I was expecting to see was traffic coming to my interface no matter what. If I have an IP on it and then if I had only then my router would ping back to the internet since the IP is on the interface.

So since I don't have any traffic coming to the interface I can't route packets to be sent to another interface since I never receive any traffic.

So my question is: Is there some kind of MAC address NAT-ing possible on MikroTik? Or maybe I got this all wrong and I should do it in another way.

Also, I'd like to stay away from bridging altogether since traffic would be pretty high from my first location, and my friend and I would like the traffic to be routed.

Thanks for your time and answer!

added 145 characters in body; edited title
Source Link

Mac Address Nat-ing is it possible?

Everyone Im not very knowledgeable with networking, so what im asking might make no sense at all, I would really apreciate if you guys could point me in the right dirrection.

So here is my situation. ( I used local IP for representation only )

My network So, I have a /29 network given from my isp and I wanted to have internet a a remote location that i had no line of sight for point to point wireless, So I have a friend between the two place wich i said il give you internet if i can have an antenna at your place.

So at the moment what i am doing is basicly nat-ing everything at my first router after the modem. But and I basically bridged all antenna together. witch work okay.

But now id like to give the external ip directly to my friend and the remote location, So my friend can port forward on its own.

So now il explain my problem. The modem is in "Bridge Mode" but when I use wireshark on eth1 of my router. I can only see traffic that my interface has an ip for and some arp request who has XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX reply to XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX, So im under the impresion that I really need an ip on the interface Eth1 of my first router for it to send back an arp so the modem know my mac address. Because as soon as I add the address on the interface traffic start to come in. What i was expecting to see was. Traffic coming to my interface no mater what if I have an IP on it and then if i had only then my router would ping back to the internet since the ip is on the interface.

So since i dont have any traffic coming to the interface i can't route packet to be sent to an other interface since I basicly never receive any traffic.

So my question is,. Is there some kind of mac address natting possible on MikroTik? Or maybe i got this all wrong and I should do in an other way.

Also I forgot to say. Id like to stay away from bridging all together since traffic would be pretty high from my first location and my friend Id like the traffic to be routed.

Thanks for your time and answer! :)

Mac Address Nat-ing?

Everyone Im not very knowledgeable with networking, so what im asking might make no sense at all, I would really apreciate if you guys could point me in the right dirrection.

So here is my situation. ( I used local IP for representation only )

My network So, I have a /29 network given from my isp and I wanted to have internet a a remote location that i had no line of sight for point to point wireless, So I have a friend between the two place wich i said il give you internet if i can have an antenna at your place.

So at the moment what i am doing is basicly nat-ing everything at my first router after the modem. But and I basically bridged all antenna together. witch work okay.

But now id like to give the external ip directly to my friend and the remote location, So my friend can port forward on its own.

So now il explain my problem. The modem is in "Bridge Mode" but when I use wireshark on eth1 of my router. I can only see traffic that my interface has an ip for and some arp request who has XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX reply to XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX, So im under the impresion that I really need an ip on the interface Eth1 of my first router for it to send back an arp so the modem know my mac address. Because as soon as I add the address on the interface traffic start to come in. What i was expecting to see was. Traffic coming to my interface no mater what if I have an IP on it and then if i had only then my router would ping back to the internet since the ip is on the interface.

So since i dont have any traffic coming to the interface i can't route packet to be sent to an other interface since I basicly never receive any traffic.

So my question is,. Is there some kind of mac address natting possible on MikroTik? Or maybe i got this all wrong and I should do in an other way.

Thanks for your time and answer! :)

Mac Address Nat-ing is it possible?

Everyone Im not very knowledgeable with networking, so what im asking might make no sense at all, I would really apreciate if you guys could point me in the right dirrection.

So here is my situation. ( I used local IP for representation only )

My network So, I have a /29 network given from my isp and I wanted to have internet a a remote location that i had no line of sight for point to point wireless, So I have a friend between the two place wich i said il give you internet if i can have an antenna at your place.

So at the moment what i am doing is basicly nat-ing everything at my first router after the modem. But and I basically bridged all antenna together. witch work okay.

But now id like to give the external ip directly to my friend and the remote location, So my friend can port forward on its own.

So now il explain my problem. The modem is in "Bridge Mode" but when I use wireshark on eth1 of my router. I can only see traffic that my interface has an ip for and some arp request who has XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX reply to XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX, So im under the impresion that I really need an ip on the interface Eth1 of my first router for it to send back an arp so the modem know my mac address. Because as soon as I add the address on the interface traffic start to come in. What i was expecting to see was. Traffic coming to my interface no mater what if I have an IP on it and then if i had only then my router would ping back to the internet since the ip is on the interface.

So since i dont have any traffic coming to the interface i can't route packet to be sent to an other interface since I basicly never receive any traffic.

So my question is,. Is there some kind of mac address natting possible on MikroTik? Or maybe i got this all wrong and I should do in an other way.

Also I forgot to say. Id like to stay away from bridging all together since traffic would be pretty high from my first location and my friend Id like the traffic to be routed.

Thanks for your time and answer! :)

Source Link
Loading