Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • The microtik router could have ARP broadcasting disabled. See this link for configuration details wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:IP/ARP In your configuration as shown you shouldn't need arp proxying; assuming the routers are configured with the correct subnet.
    – Argonauts
    Commented Sep 7, 2016 at 18:07
  • @Argonauts I think I actually need arp proxying though. Cause like i said If I ping from an external source the public ip configured at my friend for example it will never show up on wireshark on my frist router, And then if I put my friend public ip on the Eht1 of my first router I start receiving the request since my router actually answered the arp request the modem sent. Its like the modem don't route the traffic, til there is an ip to the connected interface. Commented Sep 7, 2016 at 18:15
  • I'm not sure what you want to acheive, but RouterOs has some firewalling commands at MAC level; check the bridge menu, filters and NAT tabs. You can do stuff like MAC dst-nat / src-nat here, and it works nice. Commented Sep 8, 2016 at 11:33
  • 1
    What are the subnet and default gateway settings for each of the 3 routers - 10.0.0.1, .2 and .3? The issue of if and/or where you could use an arp proxy for routing purposes is dependent on that answer. Also with the topology in your drawing, the path that normal traffic takes is always the same ( bridged or routed). In other words while you can certainly control the ability to route between the various LAN segments ( eg each of your NAT networks), functionally all traffic to/from the internet must go through eth1.
    – Argonauts
    Commented Sep 8, 2016 at 11:34
  • @Argonauts All of my routing was okay, All router had the same gateway 10.0.0.1 I figured what was going on actually and posted it if your interested. Also i know there is only one route and that a bridge or not, would have been the same thing. But I was saying that because if i just would have put ether1 of router 1 bridged with all router modem arp brodcast would have made everything work ( since the modem would of had receive mac of all router) but would also have made all traffic on router1 go all the way to air even if its dst to internet. Commented Sep 9, 2016 at 11:55