Skip to main content
Question Protected by Ramhound
Added some discovery.
Source Link
rcs
  • 921
  • 8
  • 13
  • 26

I have an external hard disk, and for some reason, it is reporting wrong free space.

In Windows Explorer, it is showing the used space is 378 GB.

Free space from Windows Explorer

I tried running chkdsk H: /f /r, it seems to report the same usage as Windows Explorer, and it says that there is no problem.

Chkdsk

But when I tried selecting all the files inside this drive, it is showing much lesser usage.

enter image description here

I've already set the setting to show all hidden files and folders, also show the protected OS files, but it still cannot find about those missing files. And the difference is huge (282 GB). I've already cleaned the Recycle bin as well.

enter image description here

What I am missing here and how do I identify those missing spaces?

[UPDATE]: I used this tools to help identify and it seems to find some gigantic files, of which filename is quite weird. Anyone knows what this is and is it safe to delete?

enter image description here

I have an external hard disk, and for some reason, it is reporting wrong free space.

In Windows Explorer, it is showing the used space is 378 GB.

Free space from Windows Explorer

I tried running chkdsk H: /f /r, it seems to report the same usage as Windows Explorer, and it says that there is no problem.

Chkdsk

But when I tried selecting all the files inside this drive, it is showing much lesser usage.

enter image description here

I've already set the setting to show all hidden files and folders, also show the protected OS files, but it still cannot find about those missing files. And the difference is huge (282 GB). I've already cleaned the Recycle bin as well.

enter image description here

What I am missing here and how do I identify those missing spaces?

I have an external hard disk, and for some reason, it is reporting wrong free space.

In Windows Explorer, it is showing the used space is 378 GB.

Free space from Windows Explorer

I tried running chkdsk H: /f /r, it seems to report the same usage as Windows Explorer, and it says that there is no problem.

Chkdsk

But when I tried selecting all the files inside this drive, it is showing much lesser usage.

enter image description here

I've already set the setting to show all hidden files and folders, also show the protected OS files, but it still cannot find about those missing files. And the difference is huge (282 GB). I've already cleaned the Recycle bin as well.

enter image description here

What I am missing here and how do I identify those missing spaces?

[UPDATE]: I used this tools to help identify and it seems to find some gigantic files, of which filename is quite weird. Anyone knows what this is and is it safe to delete?

enter image description here

Source Link
rcs
  • 921
  • 8
  • 13
  • 26

Windows 10 reporting wrong hard disk free space

I have an external hard disk, and for some reason, it is reporting wrong free space.

In Windows Explorer, it is showing the used space is 378 GB.

Free space from Windows Explorer

I tried running chkdsk H: /f /r, it seems to report the same usage as Windows Explorer, and it says that there is no problem.

Chkdsk

But when I tried selecting all the files inside this drive, it is showing much lesser usage.

enter image description here

I've already set the setting to show all hidden files and folders, also show the protected OS files, but it still cannot find about those missing files. And the difference is huge (282 GB). I've already cleaned the Recycle bin as well.

enter image description here

What I am missing here and how do I identify those missing spaces?