Skip to main content
embedded image
Source Link
fixer1234
  • 27.6k
  • 61
  • 78
  • 123

I had a similar problem. Took me weeks and a fair amount of money to figure it out, having replaced power supply and mainboard. I guess the takeaway here is never assume anything.

The computer is used in an air conditioned room, not overclocked, and has a zillion fans in the case, so I assumed overheating was not the problem until I booted to the BIOS and monitored the temperature. Watched it go up to over 90 C. This photo tells it all.   

Dirty heatsinkDirty heatsink. 

This was not obvious from a casual look at the APU. After cleaning, the temp went down to 56 C and stayed there.

I had a similar problem. Took me weeks and a fair amount of money to figure it out, having replaced power supply and mainboard. I guess the takeaway here is never assume anything.

The computer is used in an air conditioned room, not overclocked, and has a zillion fans in the case, so I assumed overheating was not the problem until I booted to the BIOS and monitored the temperature. Watched it go up to over 90 C. This photo tells it all.  Dirty heatsink. This was not obvious from a casual look at the APU. After cleaning, the temp went down to 56 C and stayed there.

I had a similar problem. Took me weeks and a fair amount of money to figure it out, having replaced power supply and mainboard. I guess the takeaway here is never assume anything.

The computer is used in an air conditioned room, not overclocked, and has a zillion fans in the case, so I assumed overheating was not the problem until I booted to the BIOS and monitored the temperature. Watched it go up to over 90 C. This photo tells it all. 

Dirty heatsink 

This was not obvious from a casual look at the APU. After cleaning, the temp went down to 56 C and stayed there.

Source Link
PMK
  • 103
  • 1
  • 3
  • 6

I had a similar problem. Took me weeks and a fair amount of money to figure it out, having replaced power supply and mainboard. I guess the takeaway here is never assume anything.

The computer is used in an air conditioned room, not overclocked, and has a zillion fans in the case, so I assumed overheating was not the problem until I booted to the BIOS and monitored the temperature. Watched it go up to over 90 C. This photo tells it all. Dirty heatsink. This was not obvious from a casual look at the APU. After cleaning, the temp went down to 56 C and stayed there.