Skip to main content
deleted 53 characters in body
Source Link

OK I will try and explain my situation as clear and as simple as possible.

I have 2 separate networks in my home, Network A is my family's network and network B is my "Lab" network. I am trying to simulate an "inside" and "outside" the network environment. I wanted to access files shares from one network to the other going through VPN using one of my routers as a VPN server, I am successful at this to some degree however as I can only access the shares via their IP address and not their address name.

I have connected an Ethernet cable from the WAN port on my "lab" router to the LAN port on my family's BT router.

here is my setup details:


Network A BT Home Hub modem/router - Family network

IP address 192.168.1.254

Subnet mask 255.255.255.0


Network B Asus DSL-N55U modem/router - My Lab router

Static IP Address 192.168.2.1

Static WAN IP Address 192.168.1.250

Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

Default Gateway 192.168.1.254


So just to reiterate..my questions is how can I access the share files from Network B to Network A through VPN by the Address name and NOT the IP address? I've

I've looked around and as I understand it's because of either DNS settings or a possible NAT issue?

I would love to hear your suggestions and please let me know if there's any other information you needWhat should my DNS settings be for my "Lab" router?

Kind regardsThanks

OK I will try and explain my situation as clear and as simple as possible.

I have 2 separate networks in my home, Network A is my family's network and network B is my "Lab" network. I am trying to simulate an "inside" and "outside" the network environment. I wanted to access files shares from one network to the other going through VPN using one of my routers as a VPN server, I am successful at this to some degree however as I can only access the shares via their IP address and not their address name.

I have connected an Ethernet cable from the WAN port on my "lab" router to the LAN port on my family's BT router.

here is my setup details:


Network A BT Home Hub modem/router - Family network

IP address 192.168.1.254

Subnet mask 255.255.255.0


Network B Asus DSL-N55U modem/router - My Lab router

Static IP Address 192.168.2.1

Static WAN IP Address 192.168.1.250

Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

Default Gateway 192.168.1.254


So just to reiterate..my questions is how can I access the share files from Network B to Network A through VPN by the Address name and NOT the IP address? I've looked around and as I understand it's because of either DNS settings or a possible NAT issue?

I would love to hear your suggestions and please let me know if there's any other information you need

Kind regards

OK I will try and explain my situation as clear and as simple as possible.

I have 2 separate networks in my home, Network A is my family's network and network B is my "Lab" network. I am trying to simulate an "inside" and "outside" the network environment. I wanted to access files shares from one network to the other going through VPN using one of my routers as a VPN server, I am successful at this to some degree however as I can only access the shares via their IP address and not their address name.

I have connected an Ethernet cable from the WAN port on my "lab" router to the LAN port on my family's BT router.

here is my setup details:


Network A BT Home Hub modem/router - Family network

IP address 192.168.1.254

Subnet mask 255.255.255.0


Network B Asus DSL-N55U modem/router - My Lab router

Static IP Address 192.168.2.1

Static WAN IP Address 192.168.1.250

Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

Default Gateway 192.168.1.254


So just to reiterate..my questions is how can I access the share files from Network B to Network A through VPN by the Address name and NOT the IP address?

I've looked around and as I understand it's because of either DNS settings or a possible NAT issue?

What should my DNS settings be for my "Lab" router?

Thanks

Source Link

Access file shares using name resolution through VPN

OK I will try and explain my situation as clear and as simple as possible.

I have 2 separate networks in my home, Network A is my family's network and network B is my "Lab" network. I am trying to simulate an "inside" and "outside" the network environment. I wanted to access files shares from one network to the other going through VPN using one of my routers as a VPN server, I am successful at this to some degree however as I can only access the shares via their IP address and not their address name.

I have connected an Ethernet cable from the WAN port on my "lab" router to the LAN port on my family's BT router.

here is my setup details:


Network A BT Home Hub modem/router - Family network

IP address 192.168.1.254

Subnet mask 255.255.255.0


Network B Asus DSL-N55U modem/router - My Lab router

Static IP Address 192.168.2.1

Static WAN IP Address 192.168.1.250

Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

Default Gateway 192.168.1.254


So just to reiterate..my questions is how can I access the share files from Network B to Network A through VPN by the Address name and NOT the IP address? I've looked around and as I understand it's because of either DNS settings or a possible NAT issue?

I would love to hear your suggestions and please let me know if there's any other information you need

Kind regards