Skip to main content
10 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 23, 2016 at 12:55 comment added Adjit @Zoredache thats what I was trying to do. But I guess the only group that allowed those kinds of file permissions was the administrators group.
Jun 23, 2016 at 5:04 comment added Kinnectus @Zoredache, yes, I was going to add a comment to not let thud be the accepted answer because it clearly isn't.
Jun 22, 2016 at 23:10 comment added Zoredache You really need to becareful here. The simple sharing wizard will almost certainly screw up any complex permissions on any pre-existing folder. Also, when setting up permissions, make sure you setup groups, and set your permissions based on groups, instead of granting them to a specific user. That way you can easily add or remove people from the group.
Jun 22, 2016 at 21:27 comment added Adjit Thanks, yeah got it fixed up. I think I'm done playing around for the day though lol
Jun 22, 2016 at 21:26 vote accept Adjit
Jun 22, 2016 at 21:25 comment added Kinnectus Argh, it seems the sharing wizard overwrites some of the original permissions. There are resources that allow you to re-add the required permissions and get it back up. Google "share wwwroot 401" and there's some resources that can help restore the permissions - sorry! The next method to add users is from the "Security" tab in the folder properties.
Jun 22, 2016 at 21:21 comment added Adjit Wasn't having a go, this was on a live site. But whatever it was, when I added the user to permissions I got a 401 Error, so I removed the users permissions then it changed to a 500 error. Turns out that removed permissions to access the website...
Jun 22, 2016 at 21:17 comment added Kinnectus Give more detail of the fault rather than a go at someone trying to help you...
Jun 22, 2016 at 21:11 comment added Adjit Well I appreciate this, but that just screwed up my webserver.
Jun 22, 2016 at 20:08 history answered Kinnectus CC BY-SA 3.0