Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

13
  • 3
    What do I do with my VM that has Win 10 1511 with the same issue? You're leveraging Power button "what to do" But may not always apply. PS: Maybe we ought to ask, what is that POWER BUTTON triggering to get your QUICK SHUTDOWN without Updates. Is it executing a FORCE shutdown?
    – Alex S
    Commented Aug 24, 2016 at 18:59
  • Good case. It looks like it is shutting down properly for me. I don't really know what it is triggering in the background - that is the golden question. And you're right - it may not always apply. Sorry i cannot help you any further with your VM, but if you find out anything, I'd be very interested to know. Thank you for your valuable comment. Commented Aug 25, 2016 at 11:52
  • @AlexS I got one more idea. I think the menu is probably interacting with the windows api. Could be the ShutdownFunctions within the advapi32.dll Commented Aug 25, 2016 at 12:11
  • 1
    Interesting, it works for me as well, would take a lot of time to execute all shutdown options via the advapi, can we somehow log this?
    – CularBytes
    Commented Aug 31, 2016 at 20:11
  • 1
    This worked for me on the latest version of Windows 10 as of the time of writing Commented Nov 26, 2017 at 12:53