Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • Really good thoughts, thanks. I forwarded the question to the IT department at work as well. Most of the remote machines are via internet located in Amazon's us-east-1 and I am currently on the east coast. No add'l VPN is used. The main thing that's stumping me is why it's only an issue for me and not my coworkers.
    – elmis
    Commented May 31, 2016 at 15:57
  • What else is going on on your client? Is there an ssh -v[vv] logging to a file? What about iotop, does it show much more disk i/o than on your colleagues' workstations? Do you have significantly less RAM than them? Same drivers for the network interface?
    – stueja
    Commented May 31, 2016 at 20:28
  • Cabling, interfaces and connectors OK? Duplicate MAC addresses in the net? Jumbo frames vs. normal frames? Duplicate IP addresses (unlikely)? Subnetting issues? Complex NAT or something in your iptables? TCP windowing values too low/high?
    – stueja
    Commented May 31, 2016 at 20:34
  • Wouldn't most of those be ruled out by the fact that both JSch and ssh -T me@remote are connecting and performing without the delay?
    – elmis
    Commented May 31, 2016 at 20:37
  • I've included the outputs of ssh -vvv me@remote as well as ssh -vvvT me@more (first one lags, second does not). Regarding the hardware specs questions: our specs are almost the same. I'm on a Dell XPS 15 with 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD used at ~15%, nothing else running except Google Chrome. Not entirely sure about the network drivers except that I'm on the latest stable available.
    – elmis
    Commented May 31, 2016 at 20:42