Skip to main content
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

I have more details regarding My computer boots up during the nightMy computer boots up during the night. I got a used halogen lamp with a transformer and can reliably reproduce the following:

I have more details regarding My computer boots up during the night. I got a used halogen lamp with a transformer and can reliably reproduce the following:

I have more details regarding My computer boots up during the night. I got a used halogen lamp with a transformer and can reliably reproduce the following:

added 82 characters in body
Source Link
Alexander
  • 765
  • 3
  • 14
  • 29
  • Computer and lamp are running
  • I shut down Windows until the computer is "off".
  • I switch off the lamp.
  • The computer starts its boot cycle.
  • I press power switch to shut down computer.
  • The computer stays off until I hit the power button again. (until I boot into Windows 10 and make a normal Windows "shutdown", that is!).

Sounds like there are electicalelect[r]ical problems within your walls causing power to not run as reliably as it should.

Yes, they are plugged into the same power strip. I have tested a surge-protector and a normal strip, and I have tried to put them on the same power circuit but different outlets. When I plug the lamp into a different power circuit, the problem goes awayis no longer reproducible. Other unknown devices on the same circuit still trigger my computer's bootcycle from time to time.

  • Computer and lamp are running
  • I shut down Windows until the computer is "off".
  • I switch off the lamp.
  • The computer starts its boot cycle.
  • I press power switch to shut down computer.
  • The computer stays off until I hit the power button again.

Sounds like there are electical problems within your walls causing power to not run as reliably as it should.

Yes, they are plugged into the same power strip. I have tested a surge-protector and a normal strip, and I have tried to put them on the same power circuit but different outlets. When I plug the lamp into a different power circuit, the problem goes away.

  • Computer and lamp are running
  • I shut down Windows until the computer is "off".
  • I switch off the lamp.
  • The computer starts its boot cycle.
  • I press power switch to shut down computer.
  • The computer stays off until I hit the power button again. (until I boot into Windows 10 and make a normal Windows "shutdown", that is!).

Sounds like there are elect[r]ical problems within your walls causing power to not run as reliably as it should.

Yes, they are plugged into the same power strip. I have tested a surge-protector and a normal strip, and I have tried to put them on the same power circuit but different outlets. When I plug the lamp into a different power circuit, the problem is no longer reproducible. Other unknown devices on the same circuit still trigger my computer's bootcycle from time to time.

added 1305 characters in body
Source Link
Alexander
  • 765
  • 3
  • 14
  • 29

Sounds like there are electical problems within your walls causing power to not run as reliably as it should.

The basic problem (the computer starting unexpectedly) has survived the change from one apartment in one village to another apartment in another village, somewhere between four kilometers and three miles apart. The "new" (used) lamp I got for my new desk in my new apartment just made the issue reproducible.

Are they both plugged into the the same power circuit

My "display", a Samsung TV, is not affected by a brown-out. I can switch to TV mode and it runs through without being affected by the lamp, although the lamp is placed exactly between display and computer, with more or less equal distance to both, and the display also is on the same power strip.

does your computer have a remote control to turn it on/off?

The TV has a remote control, but the computer doesn't. The TV would then have to wake the PC via HDMI, but I have not found such a button on the remote. I don't have a blutooth dongle, NFC or WiFi device that I know of. I have disconnected Ethernet but the problem remains.

Are they both plugged into the the same power circuit

My "display", a Samsung TV, is not affected by a brown-out. I can switch to TV mode and it runs through without being affected by the lamp, although the lamp is placed exactly between display and computer, with more or less equal distance to both, and the display also is on the same power strip.

Sounds like there are electical problems within your walls causing power to not run as reliably as it should.

The basic problem (the computer starting unexpectedly) has survived the change from one apartment in one village to another apartment in another village, somewhere between four kilometers and three miles apart. The "new" (used) lamp I got for my new desk in my new apartment just made the issue reproducible.

Are they both plugged into the the same power circuit

My "display", a Samsung TV, is not affected by a brown-out. I can switch to TV mode and it runs through without being affected by the lamp, although the lamp is placed exactly between display and computer, with more or less equal distance to both, and the display also is on the same power strip.

does your computer have a remote control to turn it on/off?

The TV has a remote control, but the computer doesn't. The TV would then have to wake the PC via HDMI, but I have not found such a button on the remote. I don't have a blutooth dongle, NFC or WiFi device that I know of. I have disconnected Ethernet but the problem remains.

added 1305 characters in body
Source Link
Alexander
  • 765
  • 3
  • 14
  • 29
Loading
added 1305 characters in body
Source Link
Alexander
  • 765
  • 3
  • 14
  • 29
Loading
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/721189493949251584
Source Link
Alexander
  • 765
  • 3
  • 14
  • 29
Loading