Skip to main content
deleted 79 characters in body
Source Link
Gareth
  • 18.9k
  • 15
  • 58
  • 69

I have a bunch of libraries that I need to link against that I installed via macports. They are 64-bit libraries. I'm working on an application written with QT Creator and the .pro is set up. I downloaded the QT SDK for Mac OS X, but it is 32-bit and so the compiled code won't link against the 64-bit binaries that I got from macports. Ok. So I downloaded the QT SDK source and built from source using -arch x86_64. Now I have a 64-bit version of the SDK (I think) but it didn't build a QT Creator app.

So. I need to know one of 4four things:

Either, 1.) I'm guessing that a simple make command will convince the QT SDK to build the creator for me. If this is true, then what is the command (make creator?). barring that, I need to know

2.) The easiest way to get MacPorts to redownload the libraries that I installed with a 32-bit version (I keep seeing a "+universal" mentioned, but I haven't seen it on a line, and simply calling ports +universal install XYZ doesn't seem to work--perhaps I need to uninstall and reinstall the package?). Also, is this a stupid idea? or

3.) Someone who actually has a prebuilt 64-bit QT SDK installer so I don't have to mess with this. It is ridiculous that QT doesn't already have this available, in my opinion--SL has been out since, what, last August?

4--and this would take the cake.) I don't understand why I can't simply put a "compile-for-64-bit stupid" command directly into the QT pro file and have it build. There isn't really a reason why a compiler compiled in 32-bits couldn't compile to 64-bits is there?:

Thanks.

  1. I'm guessing that a simple make command will convince the QT SDK to build the creator for me. If this is true, then what is the command (make creator?).

  2. The easiest way to get MacPorts to redownload the libraries that I installed with a 32-bit version (I keep seeing a "+universal" mentioned, but I haven't seen it on a line, and simply calling ports +universal install XYZ doesn't seem to work--perhaps I need to uninstall and reinstall the package?). Also, is this a stupid idea?

  3. Someone who actually has a prebuilt 64-bit QT SDK installer so I don't have to mess with this. It is ridiculous that QT doesn't already have this available, in my opinion--SL has been out since, what, last August?

  4. I don't understand why I can't simply put a "compile-for-64-bit stupid" command directly into the QT pro file and have it build. There isn't really a reason why a compiler compiled in 32-bits couldn't compile to 64-bits is there?

I have a bunch of libraries that I need to link against that I installed via macports. They are 64-bit libraries. I'm working on an application written with QT Creator and the .pro is set up. I downloaded the QT SDK for Mac OS X, but it is 32-bit and so the compiled code won't link against the 64-bit binaries that I got from macports. Ok. So I downloaded the QT SDK source and built from source using -arch x86_64. Now I have a 64-bit version of the SDK (I think) but it didn't build a QT Creator app.

So. I need to know one of 4 things:

Either, 1.) I'm guessing that a simple make command will convince the QT SDK to build the creator for me. If this is true, then what is the command (make creator?). barring that, I need to know

2.) The easiest way to get MacPorts to redownload the libraries that I installed with a 32-bit version (I keep seeing a "+universal" mentioned, but I haven't seen it on a line, and simply calling ports +universal install XYZ doesn't seem to work--perhaps I need to uninstall and reinstall the package?). Also, is this a stupid idea? or

3.) Someone who actually has a prebuilt 64-bit QT SDK installer so I don't have to mess with this. It is ridiculous that QT doesn't already have this available, in my opinion--SL has been out since, what, last August?

4--and this would take the cake.) I don't understand why I can't simply put a "compile-for-64-bit stupid" command directly into the QT pro file and have it build. There isn't really a reason why a compiler compiled in 32-bits couldn't compile to 64-bits is there?

Thanks.

I have a bunch of libraries that I need to link against that I installed via macports. They are 64-bit libraries. I'm working on an application written with QT Creator and the .pro is set up. I downloaded the QT SDK for Mac OS X, but it is 32-bit and so the compiled code won't link against the 64-bit binaries that I got from macports. Ok. So I downloaded the QT SDK source and built from source using -arch x86_64. Now I have a 64-bit version of the SDK (I think) but it didn't build a QT Creator app.

I need to know one of four things:

Either:

  1. I'm guessing that a simple make command will convince the QT SDK to build the creator for me. If this is true, then what is the command (make creator?).

  2. The easiest way to get MacPorts to redownload the libraries that I installed with a 32-bit version (I keep seeing a "+universal" mentioned, but I haven't seen it on a line, and simply calling ports +universal install XYZ doesn't seem to work--perhaps I need to uninstall and reinstall the package?). Also, is this a stupid idea?

  3. Someone who actually has a prebuilt 64-bit QT SDK installer so I don't have to mess with this. It is ridiculous that QT doesn't already have this available, in my opinion--SL has been out since, what, last August?

  4. I don't understand why I can't simply put a "compile-for-64-bit stupid" command directly into the QT pro file and have it build. There isn't really a reason why a compiler compiled in 32-bits couldn't compile to 64-bits is there?

cleaned up formatting
Source Link
user27611
user27611

I have a bunch of libraries that I need to link against that I installed via macports. They are 64-bit libraries. I'm working on an application written with QT Creator and the .pro is set up. I downloaded the QT SDK for Mac OS X, but it is 32-bit and so the compiled code won't link against the 64-bit binaries that I got from macports. Ok. So I downloaded the QT SDK source and built from source using -arch x86_64. Now I have a 64-bit version of the SDK (I think) but it didn't build a QT Creator app.

So. I need to know one of 4 things:

Either, 1.) I'm guessing that a simple make command will convince the QT SDK to build the creator for me. If this is true, then what is the command (make creator?). barring that, I need to know 2

2.) The easiest way to get MacPorts to redownload the libraries that I installed with a 32-bit version (I keep seeing a "+universal" mentioned, but I haven't seen it on a line, and simply calling ports +universal install XYZ doesn't seem to work--perhaps I need to uninstall and reinstall the package?). Also, is this a stupid idea? or 3

3.) Someone who actually has a prebuilt 64-bit QT SDK installer so I don't have to mess with this. It is ridiculous that QT doesn't already have this available, in my opinion--SL has been out since, what, last August? 4

4--and this would take the cake.) I don't understand why I can't simply put a "compile-for-64-bit stupid" command directly into the QT pro file and have it build. There isn't really a reason why a compiler compiled in 32-bits couldn't compile to 64-bits is there?

Thanks.

I have a bunch of libraries that I need to link against that I installed via macports. They are 64-bit libraries. I'm working on an application written with QT Creator and the .pro is set up. I downloaded the QT SDK for Mac OS X, but it is 32-bit and so the compiled code won't link against the 64-bit binaries that I got from macports. Ok. So I downloaded the QT SDK source and built from source using -arch x86_64. Now I have a 64-bit version of the SDK (I think) but it didn't build a QT Creator app.

So. I need to know one of 4 things:

Either, 1.) I'm guessing that a simple make command will convince the QT SDK to build the creator for me. If this is true, then what is the command (make creator?). barring that, I need to know 2.) The easiest way to get MacPorts to redownload the libraries that I installed with a 32-bit version (I keep seeing a "+universal" mentioned, but I haven't seen it on a line, and simply calling ports +universal install XYZ doesn't seem to work--perhaps I need to uninstall and reinstall the package?). Also, is this a stupid idea? or 3.) Someone who actually has a prebuilt 64-bit QT SDK installer so I don't have to mess with this. It is ridiculous that QT doesn't already have this available, in my opinion--SL has been out since, what, last August? 4--and this would take the cake.) I don't understand why I can't simply put a "compile-for-64-bit stupid" command directly into the QT pro file and have it build. There isn't really a reason why a compiler compiled in 32-bits couldn't compile to 64-bits is there?

Thanks.

I have a bunch of libraries that I need to link against that I installed via macports. They are 64-bit libraries. I'm working on an application written with QT Creator and the .pro is set up. I downloaded the QT SDK for Mac OS X, but it is 32-bit and so the compiled code won't link against the 64-bit binaries that I got from macports. Ok. So I downloaded the QT SDK source and built from source using -arch x86_64. Now I have a 64-bit version of the SDK (I think) but it didn't build a QT Creator app.

So. I need to know one of 4 things:

Either, 1.) I'm guessing that a simple make command will convince the QT SDK to build the creator for me. If this is true, then what is the command (make creator?). barring that, I need to know

2.) The easiest way to get MacPorts to redownload the libraries that I installed with a 32-bit version (I keep seeing a "+universal" mentioned, but I haven't seen it on a line, and simply calling ports +universal install XYZ doesn't seem to work--perhaps I need to uninstall and reinstall the package?). Also, is this a stupid idea? or

3.) Someone who actually has a prebuilt 64-bit QT SDK installer so I don't have to mess with this. It is ridiculous that QT doesn't already have this available, in my opinion--SL has been out since, what, last August?

4--and this would take the cake.) I don't understand why I can't simply put a "compile-for-64-bit stupid" command directly into the QT pro file and have it build. There isn't really a reason why a compiler compiled in 32-bits couldn't compile to 64-bits is there?

Thanks.

Source Link
user27611
user27611

QT Creator 64-bit Snow Leopard

I have a bunch of libraries that I need to link against that I installed via macports. They are 64-bit libraries. I'm working on an application written with QT Creator and the .pro is set up. I downloaded the QT SDK for Mac OS X, but it is 32-bit and so the compiled code won't link against the 64-bit binaries that I got from macports. Ok. So I downloaded the QT SDK source and built from source using -arch x86_64. Now I have a 64-bit version of the SDK (I think) but it didn't build a QT Creator app.

So. I need to know one of 4 things:

Either, 1.) I'm guessing that a simple make command will convince the QT SDK to build the creator for me. If this is true, then what is the command (make creator?). barring that, I need to know 2.) The easiest way to get MacPorts to redownload the libraries that I installed with a 32-bit version (I keep seeing a "+universal" mentioned, but I haven't seen it on a line, and simply calling ports +universal install XYZ doesn't seem to work--perhaps I need to uninstall and reinstall the package?). Also, is this a stupid idea? or 3.) Someone who actually has a prebuilt 64-bit QT SDK installer so I don't have to mess with this. It is ridiculous that QT doesn't already have this available, in my opinion--SL has been out since, what, last August? 4--and this would take the cake.) I don't understand why I can't simply put a "compile-for-64-bit stupid" command directly into the QT pro file and have it build. There isn't really a reason why a compiler compiled in 32-bits couldn't compile to 64-bits is there?

Thanks.