Skip to main content
improved formatting
Source Link
Kamil Maciorowski
  • 75.7k
  • 22
  • 152
  • 229

windows Windows does not mount usb ntfsUSB NTFS superfloppy

I have a Transcend Storejet external USB hard disk. This is not an SSD, but a mechanical disk with rotating plates. I have formatted the whole disk, without partitioning, as NTFS. I have used 'mkntfs'mkntfs tool under Linux.

When plugged into a Linux machine, the system sees a drive with two partitions (/dev/sdc/dev/sdc /dev/sdc1/dev/sdc1 /dev/sdc2/dev/sdc2). However, as I know it is a partitionless disk, I can mount the whole device (mount -t ntfs /dev/sdc /mntmount -t ntfs /dev/sdc /mnt) and it works without any problems.

When plugged into a MS Windows XP machine, the systems sees a disk with two unformatted partitions, and it does not assign a drive letter to either the whole disk, nor to any of the partitions.

Would anyone know how to get MS Windows to mount my disk as a NTFS superfloppy?Would anyone know how to get MS Windows to mount my disk as a NTFS superfloppy?

I have already tried removing old USB mounting points and residual devices using 'DriveCleanup'. It did not help.

By the way, I also have an external Kingston USB SSD, also formatted as NTFS superfloppy, without partitioning. However, this one is recognized and mounted normally by MS Windows.

I am grateful for all help.

windows does not mount usb ntfs superfloppy

I have a Transcend Storejet external USB hard disk. This is not an SSD, but a mechanical disk with rotating plates. I have formatted the whole disk, without partitioning, as NTFS. I have used 'mkntfs' tool under Linux.

When plugged into a Linux machine, the system sees a drive with two partitions (/dev/sdc /dev/sdc1 /dev/sdc2). However, as I know it is a partitionless disk, I can mount the whole device (mount -t ntfs /dev/sdc /mnt) and it works without any problems.

When plugged into a MS Windows XP machine, the systems sees a disk with two unformatted partitions, and it does not assign a drive letter to either the whole disk, nor to any of the partitions.

Would anyone know how to get MS Windows to mount my disk as a NTFS superfloppy?

I have already tried removing old USB mounting points and residual devices using 'DriveCleanup'. It did not help.

By the way, I also have an external Kingston USB SSD, also formatted as NTFS superfloppy, without partitioning. However, this one is recognized and mounted normally by MS Windows.

I am grateful for all help.

Windows does not mount USB NTFS superfloppy

I have a Transcend Storejet external USB hard disk. This is not an SSD, but a mechanical disk with rotating plates. I have formatted the whole disk, without partitioning, as NTFS. I have used mkntfs tool under Linux.

When plugged into a Linux machine, the system sees a drive with two partitions (/dev/sdc /dev/sdc1 /dev/sdc2). However, as I know it is a partitionless disk, I can mount the whole device (mount -t ntfs /dev/sdc /mnt) and it works without any problems.

When plugged into a MS Windows XP machine, the systems sees a disk with two unformatted partitions, and it does not assign a drive letter to either the whole disk, nor to any of the partitions.

Would anyone know how to get MS Windows to mount my disk as a NTFS superfloppy?

I have already tried removing old USB mounting points and residual devices using 'DriveCleanup'. It did not help.

By the way, I also have an external Kingston USB SSD, also formatted as NTFS superfloppy, without partitioning. However, this one is recognized and mounted normally by MS Windows.

Source Link

windows does not mount usb ntfs superfloppy

I have a Transcend Storejet external USB hard disk. This is not an SSD, but a mechanical disk with rotating plates. I have formatted the whole disk, without partitioning, as NTFS. I have used 'mkntfs' tool under Linux.

When plugged into a Linux machine, the system sees a drive with two partitions (/dev/sdc /dev/sdc1 /dev/sdc2). However, as I know it is a partitionless disk, I can mount the whole device (mount -t ntfs /dev/sdc /mnt) and it works without any problems.

When plugged into a MS Windows XP machine, the systems sees a disk with two unformatted partitions, and it does not assign a drive letter to either the whole disk, nor to any of the partitions.

Would anyone know how to get MS Windows to mount my disk as a NTFS superfloppy?

I have already tried removing old USB mounting points and residual devices using 'DriveCleanup'. It did not help.

By the way, I also have an external Kingston USB SSD, also formatted as NTFS superfloppy, without partitioning. However, this one is recognized and mounted normally by MS Windows.

I am grateful for all help.