Skip to main content
added 58 characters in body
Source Link
Lee
  • 899
  • 7
  • 16
  • 29

I did the following:

  1. Partitioned my C drive
  2. Installed Ubuntu 14.04 from USB .iso
  3. After my computer failed to boot, I used the [boot repair disk][1]boot repair disk, live from USB, to fix. This fixed the issue.
  4. I started Ubuntu and shutdown
  5. I started Windows7 and shutdown

After doing this, the machine no longer reaches GRUB. It just endlessly restarts in a loop.

What is the best way to go about debugging this? Is there a way to prevent windows interfering with the boot system?

I did the following:

  1. Partitioned my C drive
  2. Installed Ubuntu 14.04 from USB .iso
  3. After my computer failed to boot, I used the [boot repair disk][1], live from USB, to fix. This fixed the issue.
  4. I started Ubuntu and shutdown
  5. I started Windows7 and shutdown

After doing this, the machine no longer reaches GRUB. It just endlessly restarts in a loop.

What is the best way to go about debugging this? Is there a way to prevent windows interfering with the boot system?

I did the following:

  1. Partitioned my C drive
  2. Installed Ubuntu 14.04 from USB .iso
  3. After my computer failed to boot, I used the boot repair disk, live from USB, to fix. This fixed the issue.
  4. I started Ubuntu and shutdown
  5. I started Windows7 and shutdown

After doing this, the machine no longer reaches GRUB. It just endlessly restarts in a loop.

What is the best way to go about debugging this? Is there a way to prevent windows interfering with the boot system?

Source Link
Lee
  • 899
  • 7
  • 16
  • 29

After running windows 7 on dual boot system (with Ubuntu 14.04), machine does not reach GRUB

I did the following:

  1. Partitioned my C drive
  2. Installed Ubuntu 14.04 from USB .iso
  3. After my computer failed to boot, I used the [boot repair disk][1], live from USB, to fix. This fixed the issue.
  4. I started Ubuntu and shutdown
  5. I started Windows7 and shutdown

After doing this, the machine no longer reaches GRUB. It just endlessly restarts in a loop.

What is the best way to go about debugging this? Is there a way to prevent windows interfering with the boot system?