Skip to main content
25 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 6, 2016 at 14:09 history edited harrymc CC BY-SA 3.0
deleted 6 characters in body
Apr 6, 2016 at 12:55 history edited harrymc CC BY-SA 3.0
added 297 characters in body
Apr 5, 2016 at 13:34 comment added Mathias Conradt Thanks for the link. The website/project does not appear too trustworthy to me though (no official organization behind it, website looks a bit old-fashioned, they reference to Docker 1.7 in their docs - 1.11 is the current version). The port issue is not that critical, I'd rather to stick what's official from Docker and Microsoft. Doesn't feel that WinDock will be around for long.
Apr 5, 2016 at 13:08 comment added harrymc You might have a look at WinDocks.
Mar 29, 2016 at 13:37 comment added Mathias Conradt Containers worked fine with Ubuntu for me so far, just on Win2016 the native support is all pretty new. But definitely a great help for app deployment. Looking forward to the final release. Thanks for your help regarding my question.
Mar 29, 2016 at 10:50 history bounty ended Mathias Conradt
Mar 28, 2016 at 20:50 comment added harrymc I think you have a good chance that this will work correctly in the near future. Containers are a fascinating subject, even if not quite mature yet.
Mar 28, 2016 at 19:46 comment added Mathias Conradt Stefan Scherer from the Docker team was able to reproduce my issue on TP4: github.com/docker/docker/issues/21558#issuecomment-202536462
Mar 28, 2016 at 18:46 comment added Mathias Conradt It might indeed be a regression of TP4, at least the networking codebase had been moved around - see the comment here: github.com/docker/docker/issues/21558#issuecomment-202165532. I guess I will wait for TP5 or a reply from the Docker/MS team. In the meantime, I will use Apache httpd on the host as a reverse proxy and do the port forwarding through there. That should do what I'm trying to achieve.
Mar 28, 2016 at 14:42 comment added Mathias Conradt I simplified my post and just put the output from my powershell approach step by step.I will check the Windows Container Forum as well; I already found a bug in Windows Container earlier regarding another issue that I reported and was approved by one of the MS engineers. Maybe it's another one. Telnet: don't have the telnet command, I did a wget, see updated post (unable to connect to the remote server). I also submitted two tickets to Docker's and MS Virtualization's github, maybe I will get a reply there as well.
Mar 28, 2016 at 13:39 comment added harrymc I've tried tp4 in a VM, but I get stuck because of no virtualization support. As far as I can see, this should work on a physical machine. You might try your luck in the Windows Containers Forum where a MS engineer might answer. If you do, I suggest you reduce your question by a lot, just listing the PowerShell commands and their results. BTW - have you tried to telnet to host:8080?
Mar 28, 2016 at 13:21 comment added Mathias Conradt Yes, the Docker daemon is running as a service. btw: when I tried Docker, I followed the steps from the MS documentation, and I just see that the article was last updated yesterday 27.03., so it should be valid for TP4 to use Docker in the way described there. msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/virtualization/windowscontainers/…
Mar 28, 2016 at 12:14 comment added harrymc BTW - is the Docker daemon service started?
Mar 27, 2016 at 21:34 comment added Mathias Conradt Of course I ran the commands in his article adjusted to my IP addresses, etc. Without success :(
Mar 27, 2016 at 21:28 comment added Mathias Conradt I followed the steps in his article. It still does not work. That said, one thing to mention though: he seems to have different IP ranges of his vEthernet/Virtual Switch (and Ethernet0) than me. Not sure if it is because of TP3 vs. TP4. In his blog he wrote "Note: The VM host is created at this point, with a working NATing virtual switch that has an IP range of 192.168.250.0/24", but the MS default Install-ContainerHost.ps1 usually sets the Virtual Switch IP range to 172.16.0.0/16. It seems swapped, unless he changed the default config, confuses me a bit. Left him a comment under his article.
Mar 27, 2016 at 19:37 comment added harrymc Strange, it seems like one guy managed to make this work already with PowerShell in WS2016 TP3. See his step-by-step account. You could try to copy exactly his commands.
Mar 27, 2016 at 18:34 comment added Mathias Conradt Thanks for the article link. I now tried the approach using powershell instead of docker, following the documentation step by step, but still no luck. See my update above ("UPDATE (Using powershell instead of Docker)")
Mar 27, 2016 at 17:35 comment added harrymc The differences will surely disappear in the future. For the current situation, see for example this article : Docker Engine for Windows Server 2016. I would guess that Microsoft should be gunning for total integration with Docker, maybe even in the release version of WS2016.
Mar 27, 2016 at 17:01 comment added Mathias Conradt I know Docker is not developed by MS, I use it for Linux Containers without problems. Per Microsoft documentation, Docker should work on Win2016 the same way as Windows containers. I am explicitly avoiding Hyper-V in order to not have a VM in between. I will give the Windows Containers approach a try but would prefer to use Docker since its what I use outside of the Windows world as well.
Mar 27, 2016 at 16:55 comment added harrymc But you are asking about Docker which is not developed by Microsoft. For seamless integration with Windows, you should be using Windows technology which is Windows Containers and Hyper-V Containers, not Docker.
Mar 27, 2016 at 15:47 comment added Mathias Conradt Also note the comment by thaJeztah on the github page you linked to: "Work is in progress to run Docker Engine natively on Windows Server 2016, but that engine will only run Windows applications, not Linux" <- this is what I am trying to do and using.
Mar 27, 2016 at 15:42 comment added Mathias Conradt Thanks for the link, but the linked github ticket refers to Windows 7 (or any Windows Server prior to Windows 2016), and the ticket reply says: "On Windows (and OS X), the docker daemon, and your containers cannot run natively, so only the docker client is running on your Windows machine, but the daemon (and your containers) run in a VirtualBox Virtual Machine, that runs Linux."; this is valid for Windows7, but this should not be the case for Windows 2016, where containers can run natively.
Mar 27, 2016 at 15:20 history undeleted harrymc
Mar 27, 2016 at 15:20 history deleted harrymc via Vote
Mar 27, 2016 at 15:14 history answered harrymc CC BY-SA 3.0