Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Minor spelling and removed tag with incorrect usage
Source Link
Burgi
  • 6.6k
  • 14
  • 40
  • 52

I have some customers who download my software. to have full benefit they need to have OpenSSL installed on the system and point my software to it.

However, the user skill level can vary a lot. Even just selecting a dialog to choose the directory where openssl is placed may be too hard for some, but I will have to solve that by either auto detection or good help/manual.

This means I rather not start suggesting package managers etc. and it's out of the question suggesting they compile the code themsevlesthemselves.

Is there any recognized place where openssl binaries for osx (32bit and 64bit) can be downloaded? I have not found any...

For reference:

  • OS X contains version 0.9.8 which is quite old + a least breaks compaiblitycompatibility with the libraries I use that assume newer version.

I have some customers who download my software. to have full benefit they need to have OpenSSL installed on the system and point my software to it.

However, the user skill level can vary a lot. Even just selecting a dialog to choose the directory where openssl is placed may be too hard for some, but I will have to solve that by either auto detection or good help/manual.

This means I rather not start suggesting package managers etc. and it's out of the question suggesting they compile the code themsevles.

Is there any recognized place where openssl binaries for osx (32bit and 64bit) can be downloaded? I have not found any...

For reference:

  • OS X contains version 0.9.8 which is quite old + a least breaks compaiblity with the libraries I use that assume newer version.

I have some customers who download my software. to have full benefit they need to have OpenSSL installed on the system and point my software to it.

However, the user skill level can vary a lot. Even just selecting a dialog to choose the directory where openssl is placed may be too hard for some, but I will have to solve that by either auto detection or good help/manual.

This means I rather not start suggesting package managers etc. and it's out of the question suggesting they compile the code themselves.

Is there any recognized place where openssl binaries for osx (32bit and 64bit) can be downloaded? I have not found any...

For reference:

  • OS X contains version 0.9.8 which is quite old + a least breaks compatibility with the libraries I use that assume newer version.
added 118 characters in body
Source Link
Tom
  • 439
  • 4
  • 12
  • 26

I have some customers who download my software. to have full benefit they need to have OpenSSL installed on the system and point my software to it.

However, the user skill level can vary a lot. Even just selecting a dialog to choose the directory where openssl is placed may be too hard for some, but I will have to solve that by either auto detection or good help/manual.

This means I rather not start suggesting package managers etc. and it's out of the question suggesting they compile the code themsevles.

Is there any recognized place where openssl binaries for osx (32bit and 64bit) can be downloaded? I have not found any...

For reference:

  • OS X contains version 0.9.8 which is quite old + a least breaks compaiblity with the libraries I use that assume newer version.

I have some customers who download my software. to have full benefit they need to have OpenSSL installed on the system and point my software to it.

However, the user skill level can vary a lot. Even just selecting a dialog to choose the directory where openssl is placed may be too hard for some, but I will have to solve that by either auto detection or good help/manual.

This means I rather not start suggesting package managers etc. and it's out of the question suggesting they compile the code themsevles.

Is there any recognized place where openssl binaries for osx (32bit and 64bit) can be downloaded? I have not found any...

I have some customers who download my software. to have full benefit they need to have OpenSSL installed on the system and point my software to it.

However, the user skill level can vary a lot. Even just selecting a dialog to choose the directory where openssl is placed may be too hard for some, but I will have to solve that by either auto detection or good help/manual.

This means I rather not start suggesting package managers etc. and it's out of the question suggesting they compile the code themsevles.

Is there any recognized place where openssl binaries for osx (32bit and 64bit) can be downloaded? I have not found any...

For reference:

  • OS X contains version 0.9.8 which is quite old + a least breaks compaiblity with the libraries I use that assume newer version.
Source Link
Tom
  • 439
  • 4
  • 12
  • 26

OpenSSL binaries on OS X

I have some customers who download my software. to have full benefit they need to have OpenSSL installed on the system and point my software to it.

However, the user skill level can vary a lot. Even just selecting a dialog to choose the directory where openssl is placed may be too hard for some, but I will have to solve that by either auto detection or good help/manual.

This means I rather not start suggesting package managers etc. and it's out of the question suggesting they compile the code themsevles.

Is there any recognized place where openssl binaries for osx (32bit and 64bit) can be downloaded? I have not found any...