Skip to main content
broken image fixed (click 'side-by-side' to see the difference; image retrieved via Wayback Machine); for more info, see https://gist.github.com/Glorfindel83/9d954d34385d2ac2597bbe864466259f
Source Link
Glorfindel
  • 4.1k
  • 8
  • 25
  • 37

Windows 98 shutdown screenWindows 98 shutdown screen
(source: ytimg.com)

I want to know why operating systems require us to shut down using an option. Why can't I just power off with a mechanical switch?

Will I damage the hardware or corrupt my data if I constantly shut down a computer without using the OS option?

To clarify: I want to use a Intel Compute Stick as a media player connected to a projector, so it will be controlled by an electrical switch. Computer will only have the video running and won't be installed programs. The computer won't have internet access.

Windows 98 shutdown screen

I want to know why operating systems require us to shut down using an option. Why can't I just power off with a mechanical switch?

Will I damage the hardware or corrupt my data if I constantly shut down a computer without using the OS option?

To clarify: I want to use a Intel Compute Stick as a media player connected to a projector, so it will be controlled by an electrical switch. Computer will only have the video running and won't be installed programs. The computer won't have internet access.

Windows 98 shutdown screen
(source: ytimg.com)

I want to know why operating systems require us to shut down using an option. Why can't I just power off with a mechanical switch?

Will I damage the hardware or corrupt my data if I constantly shut down a computer without using the OS option?

To clarify: I want to use a Intel Compute Stick as a media player connected to a projector, so it will be controlled by an electrical switch. Computer will only have the video running and won't be installed programs. The computer won't have internet access.

Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/707791062702694400

Why do operating systems have an option to shut down?

Windows 98 shutdown screen

I want to know why operating system requires yousystems require us to shut down using an option?. Why can't I just can't power ofoff with a mechanical switch?

Will I damage the hardware or corrupt my data if I constantly shut down a computer without using the OS option?

To clarify: I want to use a intel computer stickIntel Compute Stick as a media player connected to a projector, so it will be controlled by an electrical switch. Computer will only have the video running and won't be installed programs. The computer won't have internet access.

Why operating systems have an option to shut down?

Windows 98 shutdown screen

I want to know why operating system requires you to shut down using an option? Why I just can't power of with a mechanical switch?

Will I damage the hardware or corrupt my data if I constantly shut down a computer without using the OS option?

To clarify: I want to use a intel computer stick as a media player connected to a projector, so it will be controlled by an electrical switch. Computer will only have the video running and won't be installed programs. The computer won't have internet access.

Why do operating systems have an option to shut down?

Windows 98 shutdown screen

I want to know why operating systems require us to shut down using an option. Why can't I just power off with a mechanical switch?

Will I damage the hardware or corrupt my data if I constantly shut down a computer without using the OS option?

To clarify: I want to use a Intel Compute Stick as a media player connected to a projector, so it will be controlled by an electrical switch. Computer will only have the video running and won't be installed programs. The computer won't have internet access.

added 152 characters in body
Source Link
IAmJulianAcosta
  • 933
  • 2
  • 11
  • 18

Windows 98 shutdown screen

I want to know why operating system requires you to shut down using an option? Why I just can't power of with a mechanical switch?

Will I damage the hardware or corrupt my data if I constantly shut down a computer without using the OS option?

To clarify: I want to use a intel computer stick as a media player connected to a projector, so it will be controlled by an electrical switch. Computer will only have the video running and won't be installed programs. The computer won't have internet access.

Windows 98 shutdown screen

I want to know why operating system requires you to shut down using an option? Why I just can't power of with a mechanical switch?

Will I damage the hardware or corrupt my data if I constantly shut down a computer without using the OS option?

Windows 98 shutdown screen

I want to know why operating system requires you to shut down using an option? Why I just can't power of with a mechanical switch?

Will I damage the hardware or corrupt my data if I constantly shut down a computer without using the OS option?

To clarify: I want to use a intel computer stick as a media player connected to a projector, so it will be controlled by an electrical switch. Computer will only have the video running and won't be installed programs. The computer won't have internet access.

Source Link
IAmJulianAcosta
  • 933
  • 2
  • 11
  • 18
Loading