Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

2
  • 1
    I really wish that I had my 15 rep so that I could 1up you on this. A fantastic answer and I appreciate it. I am wondering though, these things aside, were my calculations correct or incorrect? If I used GB and Gb accordingly to note the differences between the indicated storage and speed, would everything else be correct? I just want to be sure that I understand this conceptually. Thank you! Commented Mar 17, 2016 at 19:46
  • Well, it is like a sand pit. It has some volume, so you can put only so much sand in it for a certain point in time. But either you can shovel the sand with a small shovel or (mostly when it is built) you just dump a full truck right into it. That is the actual throughput. The physical limit is called bandwidth.
    – AdamKalisz
    Commented Jul 14, 2017 at 13:50