Skip to main content
9 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 15, 2019 at 16:03 comment added toddmo I just marked as answer. Sorry it took 3.5 years. It did solve my problem.
Jul 15, 2019 at 16:02 vote accept toddmo
Jun 15, 2017 at 18:31 comment added peacemaker Thanks for this answer, solved my exact problem on a Dell XPS 15 I had the Logitech wireless receiver on the left-side of the laptop next to the power and HDMI cables. Moving it over to the right-side USB port has solved the issue.
Feb 18, 2016 at 18:44 comment added toddmo @AndrewMorton, if the width of the laptop is not enough, I'll try an extension cable as per bullet 3 of this answer. Thanks!
Feb 18, 2016 at 18:43 comment added Andrew Morton The wireless m/kb transceiver dongle uses radio waves at about 2.4GHz to communicate with the mouse and keyboard. The "strength" of radio waves from an omnidirectional transmitter falls off in proportion to the square of the distance from the transmitter, so every extra bit of separation you can get between the USB 3 interference and the dongle will help.
Feb 18, 2016 at 18:43 comment added toddmo ok as per bullet point 1 and 2 in your answer, I have put the unifying receiver on the left of my laptop where the mouse and kb are, and the docking station 3.0 cable on the left side of my laptop. No issues so far. I'll mark as answer if still no issues by 5 p.m. Fingers crossed.
Feb 18, 2016 at 18:39 comment added dxiv @toddmo Yes, the unifying receiver is a 2.4 GHz USB 2 device (the Logitech wiki linked in the answer refers to it as a "USB 2.0 receiver"). And, yes, the USB 3 R/F "noise" interferes with the operation of the receiver. The last suggestion of the 3 above is to use a USB cable plugged into a USB 2 port at one end, and into the wireless receiver at the other end, so that the receiver is physically farther away from the USB 3 port, and therefore less subject to the respective interference. In my experience, a short 3ft or 6ft cable will suffice.
Feb 18, 2016 at 18:28 comment added toddmo This might be obvious to you, but are you saying my wireless m/kb are usb 2.0? And that my USB 3.0 docking station is interfering with it? And it's doing that via the usb cable that plugs it into the laptop (which, by the way, was plugged in right next to the logitech receiver)?
Feb 18, 2016 at 16:56 history answered dxiv CC BY-SA 3.0