Skip to main content

Timeline for Linux, recompiling from source

Current License: CC BY-SA 2.5

3 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 31, 2010 at 20:02 comment added Richard Hoskins /usr/local is a convention. Installing from source will only use /usr/local except when it doesn't. The Makefiles are the only authoritative source.
Jan 31, 2010 at 19:39 comment added anomareh Thanks I'd be happy to stick with package managers but a lot of the time they don't seem to have versions I'm looking for. If I recall when I was getting everything set up a while ago the available Git version was several major versions behind and I couldn't find php 5.3 only 5.2.x. If I'm building something from source does it only ever put files in /usr/local?
Jan 31, 2010 at 18:38 history answered Matt CC BY-SA 2.5