Skip to main content
formatted quote adn added lots of dots so I can submit it - damn you Jeff Atwood.
Source Link

What I did was I loaded up Ubuntu via USB, installed it on my second hard drive, and that messed up something with my other hard drive that has Windows 8.1 installed on it. Now, when I try to access that drive via Ubuntu, it gives me this error,

"Unable to access "256 Volume." Error mounting /dev/sdb1 at /media/jeremy/CC90D5F290D5E2CE: Command-line `mount -t "ntfs" -o "uhelper=udisks2,nodev,nosuid,uid=1000,gid=1000" "/dev/sdb1" "/media/jeremy/CC90D5F290D5E2CE"' exited with non-zero exit status 14: Windows is hibernated, refused to mount. Failed to mount '/dev/sdb1': Operation not permitted The NTFS partition is in an unsafe state. Please resume and shutdown Windows fully (no hibernation or fast restarting), or mount the volume read-only with the 'ro' mount option."

"Unable to access "256 Volume." Error mounting /dev/sdb1 at /media/jeremy/CC90D5F290D5E2CE: Command-line `mount -t "ntfs" -o "uhelper=udisks2,nodev,nosuid,uid=1000,gid=1000" "/dev/sdb1" "/media/jeremy/CC90D5F290D5E2CE"' exited with non-zero exit status 14: Windows is hibernated, refused to mount. Failed to mount '/dev/sdb1': Operation not permitted The NTFS partition is in an unsafe state. Please resume and shutdown Windows fully (no hibernation or fast restarting), or mount the volume read-only with the 'ro' mount option." .......

I'm hoping I can still use the hard drive that has Windows installed on it somehow, I would hate to download and install all that stuff again, but if I can't then oh well, I messed up. Please let me know if there's anything I can do, and thank you for reading.

What I did was I loaded up Ubuntu via USB, installed it on my second hard drive, and that messed up something with my other hard drive that has Windows 8.1 installed on it. Now, when I try to access that drive via Ubuntu, it gives me this error,

"Unable to access "256 Volume." Error mounting /dev/sdb1 at /media/jeremy/CC90D5F290D5E2CE: Command-line `mount -t "ntfs" -o "uhelper=udisks2,nodev,nosuid,uid=1000,gid=1000" "/dev/sdb1" "/media/jeremy/CC90D5F290D5E2CE"' exited with non-zero exit status 14: Windows is hibernated, refused to mount. Failed to mount '/dev/sdb1': Operation not permitted The NTFS partition is in an unsafe state. Please resume and shutdown Windows fully (no hibernation or fast restarting), or mount the volume read-only with the 'ro' mount option."

I'm hoping I can still use the hard drive that has Windows installed on it somehow, I would hate to download and install all that stuff again, but if I can't then oh well, I messed up. Please let me know if there's anything I can do, and thank you for reading.

What I did was I loaded up Ubuntu via USB, installed it on my second hard drive, and that messed up something with my other hard drive that has Windows 8.1 installed on it. Now, when I try to access that drive via Ubuntu, it gives me this error,

"Unable to access "256 Volume." Error mounting /dev/sdb1 at /media/jeremy/CC90D5F290D5E2CE: Command-line `mount -t "ntfs" -o "uhelper=udisks2,nodev,nosuid,uid=1000,gid=1000" "/dev/sdb1" "/media/jeremy/CC90D5F290D5E2CE"' exited with non-zero exit status 14: Windows is hibernated, refused to mount. Failed to mount '/dev/sdb1': Operation not permitted The NTFS partition is in an unsafe state. Please resume and shutdown Windows fully (no hibernation or fast restarting), or mount the volume read-only with the 'ro' mount option." .......

I'm hoping I can still use the hard drive that has Windows installed on it somehow, I would hate to download and install all that stuff again, but if I can't then oh well, I messed up. Please let me know if there's anything I can do, and thank you for reading.

Source Link

Can I fix my Windows installation?

What I did was I loaded up Ubuntu via USB, installed it on my second hard drive, and that messed up something with my other hard drive that has Windows 8.1 installed on it. Now, when I try to access that drive via Ubuntu, it gives me this error,

"Unable to access "256 Volume." Error mounting /dev/sdb1 at /media/jeremy/CC90D5F290D5E2CE: Command-line `mount -t "ntfs" -o "uhelper=udisks2,nodev,nosuid,uid=1000,gid=1000" "/dev/sdb1" "/media/jeremy/CC90D5F290D5E2CE"' exited with non-zero exit status 14: Windows is hibernated, refused to mount. Failed to mount '/dev/sdb1': Operation not permitted The NTFS partition is in an unsafe state. Please resume and shutdown Windows fully (no hibernation or fast restarting), or mount the volume read-only with the 'ro' mount option."

I'm hoping I can still use the hard drive that has Windows installed on it somehow, I would hate to download and install all that stuff again, but if I can't then oh well, I messed up. Please let me know if there's anything I can do, and thank you for reading.