Skip to main content
More info
Source Link
steve
  • 101
  • 2

I manage over 500 laptops that need USB write access disabled except to a specific USB drive my company provides.

I know about adding the WriteProtect entry to the registry to prevent write access to all USB drives. This edit works wonderfully but it prevents our USB drive being written to as well. Is there a way to add device IDs to the registry to give those devices Read/Write access (not to be confused with installation permission) while simultaneously keeping all other USB devices as Read only?

If it’s not possible to do through the registry I am also open to the idea of using secure/safe third-party software that could also do the trick.

Edit: I should mention these laptop's are in the field across the country, run Windows 7 Professional, and not apart of any domain.

I manage over 500 laptops that need USB write access disabled except to a specific USB drive my company provides.

I know about adding the WriteProtect entry to the registry to prevent write access to all USB drives. This edit works wonderfully but it prevents our USB drive being written to as well. Is there a way to add device IDs to the registry to give those devices Read/Write access (not to be confused with installation permission) while simultaneously keeping all other USB devices as Read only?

If it’s not possible to do through the registry I am also open to the idea of using secure/safe third-party software that could also do the trick.

I manage over 500 laptops that need USB write access disabled except to a specific USB drive my company provides.

I know about adding the WriteProtect entry to the registry to prevent write access to all USB drives. This edit works wonderfully but it prevents our USB drive being written to as well. Is there a way to add device IDs to the registry to give those devices Read/Write access (not to be confused with installation permission) while simultaneously keeping all other USB devices as Read only?

If it’s not possible to do through the registry I am also open to the idea of using secure/safe third-party software that could also do the trick.

Edit: I should mention these laptop's are in the field across the country, run Windows 7 Professional, and not apart of any domain.

Source Link
steve
  • 101
  • 2

Disabling write access for all USB devices except for specific device IDs?

I manage over 500 laptops that need USB write access disabled except to a specific USB drive my company provides.

I know about adding the WriteProtect entry to the registry to prevent write access to all USB drives. This edit works wonderfully but it prevents our USB drive being written to as well. Is there a way to add device IDs to the registry to give those devices Read/Write access (not to be confused with installation permission) while simultaneously keeping all other USB devices as Read only?

If it’s not possible to do through the registry I am also open to the idea of using secure/safe third-party software that could also do the trick.