Skip to main content
10 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 11, 2022 at 9:39 comment added Z0q @stz184 I think I eventually tried replacing the power adapter (cable) and it ended up solving the issue in my situation
Jul 9, 2022 at 11:33 comment added stz184 I have the same issue. My laptop supports charging both by DC jack and USB-C. When USB-C is used, everything is fine, with no charging interruptions, but when it's connected to the DC jack it stops charging randomly for a few seconds, without moving the cable or the computer itself. Tried wriggling the DC cable in order to reproduce the issue but without luck - it happens completely random and it cannot be reproduced by wriggling the cable or moving the jack.
Jul 7, 2016 at 14:39 comment added Daniel A.A. Pelsmaeker I have this exact same problem, in my case with an Asus N56. It seems to be getting worse. Have you found what the issue might have been? I still use the original adapter and battery, and the battery isn't that new any more.
Jan 6, 2016 at 18:11 comment added Z0q Today it has been working fine almost the entire day. Just for a few seconds it stopped working.
Jan 6, 2016 at 18:00 comment added Z0q @Jonno: I wonder if I should replace the DC Jack or the adapter. It looks like the DC Jack should be pretty easy to fix if it is not soldered. The battery is an unofficial one by the way, but it works fine. I think it would be strange if it would not work only sometimes. If it is intelligent to know that it is unofficial, it would not charge at all, right? P.S.: If it is not charging, it does also not boot the laptop without battery. So I think it does not have anything to do with the battery!
Jan 6, 2016 at 17:38 comment added Jonno The port could be at fault, although some movement isn't necessarily a problem as it's on a harness rather than soldered to a board. As such, these types can be more prone to movement, usually only up and down though. The fact that the lights on the laptop change when it stops charging makes me thing it's something to do with the power circuitry, or possibly a fault with the power adapter which may have a certain 'intelligence' to detect it's genuine.
Jan 6, 2016 at 17:33 comment added Some Dude @Z0q If battery is new and cable is tested, the next likely thing is the port on the laptop. If it is spacious (wiggles) could be a sign of failure. The easiest way to test this is by using another charger.
Jan 6, 2016 at 17:03 comment added Z0q @Burgi Thank you for helping me. I did have this problem also in other locations.
Jan 6, 2016 at 16:35 comment added Burgi Is your location prone to power brown-outs? Does it do this if connected to a different wall socket?
Jan 6, 2016 at 16:08 history asked Z0q CC BY-SA 3.0