Skip to main content
Post Reopened by karel, Kevin Panko, Dave M, nc4pk, Scott - Слава Україні
deleted 17 characters in body; edited tags; edited title
Source Link
Kevin Panko
  • 7.4k
  • 23
  • 45
  • 53

How does a NAT router obtain its IP address?

I have a question about DHCP and NAT.

I know NAT translates local IP addresses and portports into a single IP address and specific portports that can be used to communicate with the Internet.

I also know DHCP is used to assign or re-use an unused IP address to a computer that connected to the network.

My question is, howHow does NAT obtain its single IP address; doesaddress? Does it usesuse DHCP?

How does NAT obtain its IP address?

I have a question about DHCP and NAT.

I know NAT translates local IP addresses and port into a single IP address and specific port that can be used to communicate with the Internet.

I also know DHCP is used to assign or re-use an unused IP address to a computer that connected to the network.

My question is, how does NAT obtain its single IP address; does it uses DHCP?

How does a NAT router obtain its IP address?

I have a question about DHCP and NAT.

I know NAT translates local IP addresses and ports into a single IP address and specific ports that can be used to communicate with the Internet.

I also know DHCP is used to assign or re-use an unused IP address to a computer that connected to the network.

How does NAT obtain its single IP address? Does it use DHCP?

Post Closed as "Needs details or clarity" by Moab, DavidPostill, mdpc, Giacomo1968, Raystafarian
Question Protected by Giacomo1968
grammar fixes
Source Link
nc4pk
  • 9.2k
  • 14
  • 60
  • 71

DHCP and How does NAT - Differencesobtain its IP address?

I have a doubtquestion about DHCP and NAT.

I know NAT translates local IP adressesaddresses and port into a single IP adressaddress and specific port that can be used to communicate withinwith the Internet.

AndI also know DHCP is used to assign or re-use aan unused IP Adress (not used)address to a computer that connected to the network.

My doubtquestion is, how does NAT defines it'sobtain its single IP Address,address; does it uses DHCP?

DHCP and NAT - Differences

I have a doubt about DHCP and NAT.

I know NAT translates local IP adresses and port into a single IP adress and specific port that can be used to communicate within the Internet.

And DHCP is used to assign or re-use a IP Adress (not used) to a computer that connected to the network.

My doubt is, how does NAT defines it's single IP Address, does it uses DHCP?

How does NAT obtain its IP address?

I have a question about DHCP and NAT.

I know NAT translates local IP addresses and port into a single IP address and specific port that can be used to communicate with the Internet.

I also know DHCP is used to assign or re-use an unused IP address to a computer that connected to the network.

My question is, how does NAT obtain its single IP address; does it uses DHCP?

deleted 194 characters in body
Source Link

I have a doubt about DHCP and NAT.

I know NAT translates local IP adresses and port into a single IP adress and specific port that can be used to communicate within the Internet.

And DHCP is used to assign or re-use a IP Adress (not used) to a computer that connected to the network.

My doubt is, how does NAT defines it's single IP Address, does it uses DHCP?

Also, in my home network, when I connect two different computers they both get different external IP's. How can this happen? Shouldn't my router be NAT since it protects my local IP Address?

I have a doubt about DHCP and NAT.

I know NAT translates local IP adresses and port into a single IP adress and specific port that can be used to communicate within the Internet.

And DHCP is used to assign or re-use a IP Adress (not used) to a computer that connected to the network.

My doubt is, how does NAT defines it's single IP Address, does it uses DHCP?

Also, in my home network, when I connect two different computers they both get different external IP's. How can this happen? Shouldn't my router be NAT since it protects my local IP Address?

I have a doubt about DHCP and NAT.

I know NAT translates local IP adresses and port into a single IP adress and specific port that can be used to communicate within the Internet.

And DHCP is used to assign or re-use a IP Adress (not used) to a computer that connected to the network.

My doubt is, how does NAT defines it's single IP Address, does it uses DHCP?

Source Link
Loading