Skip to main content

Timeline for Powershell A Drive C Does Not Exist

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

16 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 6, 2016 at 9:03 vote accept ejbytes
Jan 4, 2016 at 8:02 answer added ejbytes timeline score: 2
Jan 4, 2016 at 8:02 comment added Vomit IT - Chunky Mess Style @ejbytes No problem, I'm glad you resolved it.
Jan 4, 2016 at 7:59 comment added ejbytes @LMFAO_A_JOKE Thank you for watching out. I discovered a wrench in my Environment Variables Path. It really didn't seem to stick out to me because in a lot of code I write sometimes I have to put the '.' in, in order for the code to recognize a path or current directory ( e.g. "./" vs "/" )
Jan 4, 2016 at 7:56 comment added ejbytes @DanielB I reboot. Still no. I uninstalled .NET. Reinstalled .NET. Reinstalled Powershell. Then I was thinking about your '.C' comment. I did change my Environment Variables a couple years ago per a "fix" for JUNIT testing in Java. In a forum it stated that a '.' must be added to the JUNIT path and must be in front (the first item in Environment Variables Path). So I took out the period, restarted a new terminal session and viola! It was the '.' in the Environmental Variables on my machine. I saw the '.C' in the message but didn't really think about the '.' because so many times it's necessary
Jan 4, 2016 at 1:41 comment added Vomit IT - Chunky Mess Style @ejbytes Down votes are FREE and don't cost reputation on questions so you'll see this more often. In any case, I have some ideas but see if the simple stuff resolves first before I comment or add an answer. It'll likely be an answer otherwise I'll have to post a ton of comments. Start with the reboot as suggested and see if that resolves. If not, repost back and I'll keep an eye out for a response or an accepted answer, etc. before I do anything further. I don't want to polute the air too much so start with what you've been requested to do first and hopefully it is as simple as that.
Jan 3, 2016 at 23:09 comment added ejbytes @DavidPostill Powershell was already on my PC. The error. Then I installed another version. The same. Maybe I will uninstall my .NET and uninstall powershell. I'll post later after work to state if/if not it works out.
Jan 3, 2016 at 23:08 comment added ejbytes @DavidPostill So many rude and ignorant people out there. So eager to down vote to inflate one's own ego I think is the logical answer.
Jan 3, 2016 at 23:06 comment added DavidPostill @ejbytes Did you reboot after installing? I recall mine misbehaving after installing version 4.0 (it displayed the wrong version number until I rebooted).
Jan 3, 2016 at 23:03 comment added ejbytes General: What is with the down voting? Someone is on a spree of bad manners today. I checked out the question board and there are like 20 -1's in a row. Someone had too much to drink I think. Something wrong with the way I posed this question? Please do comment.
Jan 3, 2016 at 23:02 comment added ejbytes @DavidPostill All I did was install the required files from the microsoft website and tried to execute this line. I did not configure anything or touch any files that were installed. Simply run(cmd) then powershell just as the image demonstrates. Nothing else.
Jan 3, 2016 at 22:51 comment added DavidPostill Have you changed any of the powershell config files? For example C:\Users\{username}\Documents\WindowsPowerShell\Microsoft.PowerShell_profile.ps1?
Jan 3, 2016 at 22:48 answer added DavidPostill timeline score: 0
Jan 3, 2016 at 22:46 comment added Daniel B Notice how it says .C. That's certainly not what a valid drive letter looks like. Did you make any changes that could have caused this?
Jan 3, 2016 at 22:35 history edited DavidPostill CC BY-SA 3.0
removed text about downvoting/commenting which is not relevant to the question; edited tags
Jan 3, 2016 at 22:24 history asked ejbytes CC BY-SA 3.0