Skip to main content
removed text about downvoting/commenting which is not relevant to the question; edited tags
Source Link
DavidPostill
  • 158.5k
  • 77
  • 365
  • 408

[Please leave a constructive comment if you are going to down-vote this post. It is policy to leave a comment to improve the question. Please don't be rude and just down vote, which I am seeing a lot of. It's a community right?.] I am using a regular system, nothing virtual, my C drive is not mapped which I see in some forums. Environment path not set?


I am using a regular system, nothing virtual, my C drive is not mapped which I see in some forums. Environment path not set?

I started a tutorial to learn Powershell, and the first thing I tried to execute was very simple:

PS C:\Users\user> get-help get

Error I receive:

get-help : Cannot find drive. A drive with the name '.C' does not exist.
At line:1 char:1
+ get-help get
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : ObjectNotFound: (.C:String) [Get-Help], DriveNotFoundException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : DriveNotFound,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.GetHelpCommand

Image: enter image description here


System:
Windows7, Powershell 4.0, .NET 4.5

[Please leave a constructive comment if you are going to down-vote this post. It is policy to leave a comment to improve the question. Please don't be rude and just down vote, which I am seeing a lot of. It's a community right?.]


I am using a regular system, nothing virtual, my C drive is not mapped which I see in some forums. Environment path not set?

I started a tutorial to learn Powershell, and the first thing I tried to execute was very simple:

PS C:\Users\user> get-help get

Error I receive:

get-help : Cannot find drive. A drive with the name '.C' does not exist.
At line:1 char:1
+ get-help get
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : ObjectNotFound: (.C:String) [Get-Help], DriveNotFoundException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : DriveNotFound,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.GetHelpCommand

Image: enter image description here


System:
Windows7, Powershell 4.0, .NET 4.5

I am using a regular system, nothing virtual, my C drive is not mapped which I see in some forums. Environment path not set?

I started a tutorial to learn Powershell, and the first thing I tried to execute was very simple:

PS C:\Users\user> get-help get

Error I receive:

get-help : Cannot find drive. A drive with the name '.C' does not exist.
At line:1 char:1
+ get-help get
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : ObjectNotFound: (.C:String) [Get-Help], DriveNotFoundException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : DriveNotFound,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.GetHelpCommand

Image: enter image description here


System:
Windows7, Powershell 4.0, .NET 4.5

Source Link
ejbytes
  • 2k
  • 3
  • 15
  • 25

Powershell A Drive C Does Not Exist

[Please leave a constructive comment if you are going to down-vote this post. It is policy to leave a comment to improve the question. Please don't be rude and just down vote, which I am seeing a lot of. It's a community right?.]


I am using a regular system, nothing virtual, my C drive is not mapped which I see in some forums. Environment path not set?

I started a tutorial to learn Powershell, and the first thing I tried to execute was very simple:

PS C:\Users\user> get-help get

Error I receive:

get-help : Cannot find drive. A drive with the name '.C' does not exist.
At line:1 char:1
+ get-help get
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : ObjectNotFound: (.C:String) [Get-Help], DriveNotFoundException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : DriveNotFound,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.GetHelpCommand

Image: enter image description here


System:
Windows7, Powershell 4.0, .NET 4.5