Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
edited body
Source Link
feklee
  • 1.7k
  • 8
  • 22
  • 44

When plugging in a Canon CanoScan 9000F, driver installation failed, and so I looked at the log file C:\Windows\inf\setupapi.dev.log: The file usbscan.sys could not be found in C:\Windows\inf.

So I searched for the file, and found it in a multitude of locations. From C:\Windows\System32 I copied it to C:\Windows\INF\Windows\inf, and now installation of the Canon driver works.

But why did I have to manually copy usbscan.sys? Did the installer look in the wrong location, or has the file been deleted before?

I wonder if there is something broken on my system.

When plugging in a Canon CanoScan 9000F, driver installation failed, and so I looked at the log file C:\Windows\inf\setupapi.dev.log: The file usbscan.sys could not be found in C:\Windows\inf.

So I searched for the file, and found it in a multitude of locations. From C:\Windows\System32 I copied it to C:\Windows\INF, and now installation of the Canon driver works.

But why did I have to manually copy usbscan.sys? Did the installer look in the wrong location, or has the file been deleted before?

I wonder if there is something broken on my system.

When plugging in a Canon CanoScan 9000F, driver installation failed, and so I looked at the log file C:\Windows\inf\setupapi.dev.log: The file usbscan.sys could not be found in C:\Windows\inf.

So I searched for the file, and found it in a multitude of locations. From C:\Windows\System32 I copied it to C:\Windows\inf, and now installation of the Canon driver works.

But why did I have to manually copy usbscan.sys? Did the installer look in the wrong location, or has the file been deleted before?

I wonder if there is something broken on my system.

Source Link
feklee
  • 1.7k
  • 8
  • 22
  • 44

Why did I have to copy usbscan.sys?

When plugging in a Canon CanoScan 9000F, driver installation failed, and so I looked at the log file C:\Windows\inf\setupapi.dev.log: The file usbscan.sys could not be found in C:\Windows\inf.

So I searched for the file, and found it in a multitude of locations. From C:\Windows\System32 I copied it to C:\Windows\INF, and now installation of the Canon driver works.

But why did I have to manually copy usbscan.sys? Did the installer look in the wrong location, or has the file been deleted before?

I wonder if there is something broken on my system.