Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • This Lenovo webpage forums.lenovo.com/t5/Welcome-FAQs-Knowledge-Base/… indicates that you can use Onekey to create recover media.
    – David
    Commented Dec 27, 2015 at 13:06
  • Thanks for the answer. I've updated the question with additional information about trying to create recovery media. Is it safe to wipe even the EFI partition? I've read on various sites that deleting this removes the PC's ability to boot.
    – LJD200
    Commented Dec 27, 2015 at 13:10
  • The system backup should be able to make your recovery media. My advice, though, is to do what I do, which is to open your computer and replace the hard drive with a new (blank) one. That way, if the install does not work, then all you have to do is just put your 'old' hard drive back into your computer, and everything is as it was before. As for the EFI partitions, from my experience is that Windows just creates new ones.
    – David
    Commented Dec 27, 2015 at 16:44
  • Unfortunately, I do not have another hard disk I can use but I've backed up the current hard disk using Clonezilla and I will remove everything but the recovery partitions. Thanks for the help. I'll report back with the results.
    – LJD200
    Commented Dec 27, 2015 at 18:35
  • I deleted all the partitions except the Lenovo recovery and OEM ones in Windows Setup. There was also a Microsoft System Reserved partition that wasn't listed in Disk Management. I also deleted this and then told Windows to install in the unallocated space, which it did. The whole operation went very smoothly.
    – LJD200
    Commented Dec 29, 2015 at 13:14