Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Question Protected by CommunityBot
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/680548922914398209
added 301 characters in body
Source Link

How can I create a bootable Windows 10 USB drive from Linux ?

Please note:

  • WinUSB doesn't work with Windows 10.
  • UNetbootin doesn't work either.
  • dd method didn't work as well.

Beside this, I've tried creating a GPT partition table and one partition of type ef00 and formatted as fat32, and then copied all ISO contents to it. It boots OK, but when I go to start installation it shows the prompt for media dialog.

Update

Another try:

  1. Created a GPT
  2. Created a FAT32 at end of drive of 50 MB
  3. Created NTFS at remaining space
  4. Put UEFI:NTFS on FAT32
  5. Copied ISO content to NTFS

The installation starts ok, but at start of progress shows error 0xc0000005 (if i remember correctly).

How can I create a bootable Windows 10 USB drive from Linux ?

Please note:

  • WinUSB doesn't work with Windows 10.
  • UNetbootin doesn't work either.
  • dd method didn't work as well.

Beside this, I've tried creating a GPT partition table and one partition of type ef00 and formatted as fat32, and then copied all ISO contents to it. It boots OK, but when I go to start installation it shows the prompt for media dialog.

How can I create a bootable Windows 10 USB drive from Linux ?

Please note:

  • WinUSB doesn't work with Windows 10.
  • UNetbootin doesn't work either.
  • dd method didn't work as well.

Beside this, I've tried creating a GPT partition table and one partition of type ef00 and formatted as fat32, and then copied all ISO contents to it. It boots OK, but when I go to start installation it shows the prompt for media dialog.

Update

Another try:

  1. Created a GPT
  2. Created a FAT32 at end of drive of 50 MB
  3. Created NTFS at remaining space
  4. Put UEFI:NTFS on FAT32
  5. Copied ISO content to NTFS

The installation starts ok, but at start of progress shows error 0xc0000005 (if i remember correctly).

Removed duplicated text; capitalisation
Source Link
DavidPostill
  • 158.5k
  • 77
  • 365
  • 408

How can I create a bootable Windows 10 USB drive from linuxLinux ?

Please note:

  • WinUSB doesn't work with W10Windows 10.
  • UNetbootin doesn't work tooeither.
  • dd method didn't work tooas well.

Beside this, I've tried creating a GPT partition table and one partition of type ef00 and formatted as fat32, and then copied all isoISO contents to it. It boots okOK, but when I go to start installation it shows the prompt for media dialog.

How can I create a bootable Windows 10 USB drive from linux ?

Please note:

  • WinUSB doesn't work with W10.
  • UNetbootin doesn't work too.
  • dd method didn't work too.

Beside this, I've tried creating a GPT partition table and one partition of type ef00 and formatted as fat32, and then copied all iso contents to it. It boots ok, but when I go to start installation it shows the prompt for media dialog.

How can I create a bootable Windows 10 USB drive from Linux ?

Please note:

  • WinUSB doesn't work with Windows 10.
  • UNetbootin doesn't work either.
  • dd method didn't work as well.

Beside this, I've tried creating a GPT partition table and one partition of type ef00 and formatted as fat32, and then copied all ISO contents to it. It boots OK, but when I go to start installation it shows the prompt for media dialog.

How can I create a bootable Windows 10 USB drive from linux ?

Please note:

  • WinUSB doesn't work with W10.
  • UNetbootin doesn't work too.
  • dd method didn't work too.

How can I create a bootable Windows 10 USB drive from linux ?

Please note:

  • WinUSB doesn't work with W10.
  • UNetbootin doesn't work too.
  • dd method didn't work too.

besideBeside this, I've tried creating a gptGPT partition table and one partition of type ef00 and formatted as fat32, and then copied all iso contents to it, it. It boots ok, but when I go to start installation it shows dethe prompt for media dialog.

How can I create a bootable Windows 10 USB drive from linux ?

Please note:

  • WinUSB doesn't work with W10.
  • UNetbootin doesn't work too.
  • dd method didn't work too.

How can I create a bootable Windows 10 USB drive from linux ?

Please note:

  • WinUSB doesn't work with W10.
  • UNetbootin doesn't work too.
  • dd method didn't work too.

beside this, I've tried creating a gpt partition table and one partition of type ef00 and formatted as fat32, and then copied all iso contents to it, it boots ok, but when to start installation it shows de prompt for media dialog.

How can I create a bootable Windows 10 USB drive from linux ?

Please note:

  • WinUSB doesn't work with W10.
  • UNetbootin doesn't work too.
  • dd method didn't work too.

Beside this, I've tried creating a GPT partition table and one partition of type ef00 and formatted as fat32, and then copied all iso contents to it. It boots ok, but when I go to start installation it shows the prompt for media dialog.

Source Link
Loading