Skip to main content
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

After following MariusMatutiaeMariusMatutiae's suggestion I started the iperf server on the client machine and then tried to make the bidirectional request from the VM and here is what I got:

After following MariusMatutiae's suggestion I started the iperf server on the client machine and then tried to make the bidirectional request from the VM and here is what I got:

After following MariusMatutiae's suggestion I started the iperf server on the client machine and then tried to make the bidirectional request from the VM and here is what I got:

refocus of the question
Source Link
Eldros
  • 135
  • 1
  • 2
  • 11

Why does a Bidirectional iperf request freezes on the server to client side when server is set as daemon?

EDIT 2

As I suspected and Marius confirmed client and server can't run on the same machine. So I waited for an opportune time to kill the daemon so it wouldn't run concurrently to the client, started the server only with -s on the host (which is on a totally other location, as Marius asked), started the bidirectional request on the VM and the request went through (Thought of the moment: "What the...").

And then it hit me, I get the issue only if the server is started as daemon.

I confirmed my hypothesis by testing both with server as a daemon and not a daemon, as well as swapping the role of the machines.

So now, why is that that it freezes if the iperf server is started as daemon? Can I solve this issue, or should I resign myself to let a terminal running on the machine?

Bidirectional iperf request freezes on the server to client side when server is set as daemon

EDIT 2

As I suspected and Marius confirmed client and server can't run on the same machine. So I waited for an opportune time to kill the daemon so it wouldn't run concurrently to the client, started the server only with -s on the host (which is on a totally other location, as Marius asked), started the bidirectional request on the VM and the request went through (Thought of the moment: "What the...").

And then it hit me, I get the issue only if the server is started as daemon.

I confirmed my hypothesis by testing both with server as a daemon and not a daemon, as well as swapping the role of the machines.

So now, why is that that it freezes if the iperf server is started as daemon? Can I solve this issue, or should I resign myself to let a terminal running on the machine?

Why does a Bidirectional iperf request freezes on the server to client side?

Issue only if the server is daemon
Source Link
Eldros
  • 135
  • 1
  • 2
  • 11

Bidirectional iperf request freezes on the server to client side when server is set as daemon

EDIT 2

As I suspected and Marius confirmed client and server can't run on the same machine. So I waited for an opportune time to kill the daemon so it wouldn't run concurrently to the client, started the server only with -s on the host (which is on a totally other location, as Marius asked), started the bidirectional request on the VM and the request went through (Thought of the moment: "What the...").

And then it hit me, I get the issue only if the server is started as daemon.

I confirmed my hypothesis by testing both with server as a daemon and not a daemon, as well as swapping the role of the machines.

So now, why is that that it freezes if the iperf server is started as daemon? Can I solve this issue, or should I resign myself to let a terminal running on the machine?

Bidirectional iperf request freezes on the server to client side

Bidirectional iperf request freezes on the server to client side when server is set as daemon

EDIT 2

As I suspected and Marius confirmed client and server can't run on the same machine. So I waited for an opportune time to kill the daemon so it wouldn't run concurrently to the client, started the server only with -s on the host (which is on a totally other location, as Marius asked), started the bidirectional request on the VM and the request went through (Thought of the moment: "What the...").

And then it hit me, I get the issue only if the server is started as daemon.

I confirmed my hypothesis by testing both with server as a daemon and not a daemon, as well as swapping the role of the machines.

So now, why is that that it freezes if the iperf server is started as daemon? Can I solve this issue, or should I resign myself to let a terminal running on the machine?

Added additonal information
Source Link
Eldros
  • 135
  • 1
  • 2
  • 11
Loading
Source Link
Eldros
  • 135
  • 1
  • 2
  • 11
Loading