Skip to main content
16 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Dec 3, 2015 at 10:28 comment added user529094 I looked into TLP now, I will give it a try. Interesting. Thanks!
Dec 3, 2015 at 9:37 comment added Vinayak @ChrisH that does seem useful. I have a Lenovo notebook with the energy management app but without the button to override the current setting one time. @.siblynx may I suggest installing TLP on your device, if you able to? It supposedly helps you get more juice out of your battery by doing advanced power management.
Dec 3, 2015 at 9:27 comment added Chris H @Vinayak maybe that's a different version, because I remember a button to fully charge it this time. That would seem to be a useful feature: optimise for battery lifetime, but allow the user to override if necessary, without them forgetting to turn the setting off again.
Dec 3, 2015 at 9:19 comment added Vinayak @ChrisH I think you're referring to this?. I believe you can have the same effect on Linux by installing the tp_smapi kernel module but I haven't tried it yet.
Dec 3, 2015 at 9:16 comment added user529094 @Vinayak Well, this little poor machine (Asus X101CH) even has poor Linux support, and I use it mainly as a debug & testing tool. It even has soldered RAM and CPU. It's hard enough to access even it's hard driver and I do not want to disassemble it now (but I did that earlier once). So I let it be as it goes now.
Dec 3, 2015 at 9:07 comment added Chris H @Vinayak, that's true. There is (on Windows) a tool to tell it to charge fully (e.g. before a long period without access to power), but it's buried somewhere in the options, even though it's a "do it now" tool rather than an option. The Lenovo I know that does this doesn't yet have Linux on it.
Dec 3, 2015 at 8:19 comment added Vinayak I'm not sure if this will help, but it might be relevant to your situation
Dec 3, 2015 at 7:28 vote accept CommunityBot
Dec 3, 2015 at 7:23 comment added Vinayak I'm not sure how it works on Linux, but usually on Windows I get to 100% even though the battery has a bit of wear. I'll have to look into that
Dec 3, 2015 at 7:21 comment added Vinayak Batteries age over time and a 22% drop in battery capacity for one that's been used over 2 years is not surprising. It's nothing that you need to worry about though. Not until battery wear guess up to 50% or more.
Dec 3, 2015 at 7:20 comment added user529094 I understand that battery itself will not return back to 2200mAh 100%. Just confused with hardware indicator - will it consider new 1700mAh capacity as 100% and how to teach it.
Dec 3, 2015 at 7:17 comment added Vinayak Certain Lenovo computers have software that cuts off power to the battery at 60% charge and maintains that battery level (even with the notebook powered off), which apparently increases battery life. You could do this manually but I can only imagine what an inconvenience that'd be. I am unaware of any software programs that can achieve the same effect on other computers.
Dec 3, 2015 at 7:11 comment added Vinayak That's normal. It is unlikely that you will reach 100% again as your battery capacity has dropped by almost 22%. You should however, refrain from performing battery calibration very frequently and try not to drain your battery down to 10% or less as I recall reading something about that being harmful to your battery life.
Dec 3, 2015 at 7:06 comment added user529094 Yes I see that last full capacity dropped, however I attempted calibration ten times since I noticed that, both with and without OS running to no avail. I once flushed it down to 0% even laptop was not able to turn on then charged. Still stuck at 90%.
Dec 3, 2015 at 7:03 history edited Vinayak CC BY-SA 3.0
added 691 characters in body
Dec 3, 2015 at 6:51 history answered Vinayak CC BY-SA 3.0