Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

7
  • 22% degradation in 2.5 years is maybe slightly unlucky, but not unreasonable. It does seem a little odd that after calibration it doesn't reach 100% of a lower value. I assume you've tried shutting down and plugging in overnight?
    – Chris H
    Commented Dec 3, 2015 at 9:12
  • I tried various ways: draining to 4% then charging fully, draining even to zero once, upcharging from 50-70%, did leave it for a 10hrs charging from 4%, tried "ladder": 30->50->30-60% (I need it to be portable for some time). But no, it stuck.
    – user529094
    Commented Dec 3, 2015 at 9:22
  • ... My machine is at least twice as old (I have directories last modified in 2011 that were created at installation). I have a similar amount of degradation to you but for a while my laptop wasn't seeing much use, just powered down and partially charged.
    – Chris H
    Commented Dec 3, 2015 at 9:24
  • Then I suggest a new battery is in order. I've bought third party battteries from reputable sources/brands in the past, with success., And by reputable I mean the actual seller, not the marketplace owner.
    – Chris H
    Commented Dec 3, 2015 at 9:25
  • I edited my question to include some more detail.
    – user529094
    Commented Dec 3, 2015 at 9:26