Skip to main content

The win7 32bit does have an EFI folder. so I guess rufus is wrong when it says it's not an EFI image   

https://i.sstatic.net/sfHdM.pngenter image description here So

So maybe the win7 download tool is the thing to use for that.. Or, just formatting it with rufus and copying the files over. Though my laptop is 64bit.. so perhaps no use testing a 32bit ISO../ no point.

The win7 32bit does have an EFI folder. so I guess rufus is wrong when it says it's not an EFI image  https://i.sstatic.net/sfHdM.png So maybe the win7 download tool is the thing to use for that.. Or, just formatting it with rufus and copying the files over. Though my laptop is 64bit.. so perhaps no use testing a 32bit ISO../ no point.

The win7 32bit does have an EFI folder. so I guess rufus is wrong when it says it's not an EFI image 

enter image description here

So maybe the win7 download tool is the thing to use for that.. Or, just formatting it with rufus and copying the files over. Though my laptop is 64bit.. so perhaps no use testing a 32bit ISO../ no point.

replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

Note- This is not the same as this question Windows to go usb 3.0 booting problemsWindows to go usb 3.0 booting problems . Because my one fails for USB 3.0 and the USB 2.0 ports. Any USB port doesn't work. And the accepted answer on that one suggests that another port would work. I notice though, as I comment, that My USB 2.0 stick works, in any port even in my USB 3 port. So the issue I have is USB 3 sticks. But then the problem I have, is , besides using USB 2 sticks only. How can I get USB 3 support, is it possible to.

Note- This is not the same as this question Windows to go usb 3.0 booting problems . Because my one fails for USB 3.0 and the USB 2.0 ports. Any USB port doesn't work. And the accepted answer on that one suggests that another port would work. I notice though, as I comment, that My USB 2.0 stick works, in any port even in my USB 3 port. So the issue I have is USB 3 sticks. But then the problem I have, is , besides using USB 2 sticks only. How can I get USB 3 support, is it possible to.

Note- This is not the same as this question Windows to go usb 3.0 booting problems . Because my one fails for USB 3.0 and the USB 2.0 ports. Any USB port doesn't work. And the accepted answer on that one suggests that another port would work. I notice though, as I comment, that My USB 2.0 stick works, in any port even in my USB 3 port. So the issue I have is USB 3 sticks. But then the problem I have, is , besides using USB 2 sticks only. How can I get USB 3 support, is it possible to.

deleted 196 characters in body
Source Link
barlop
  • 24.3k
  • 47
  • 164
  • 247

The win7 32bit does have an EFI folder. so I guess rufus is wrong when it says it's not an EFI image https://i.sstatic.net/sfHdM.png So maybe the win7 download tool is the thing to use for that.. Or, just formatting it with rufus and copying the files over. Though my laptop is 64bit.. so perhaps no use testing a 32bit ISO../ no point.

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-au/library/hh824898.aspx "While in UEFI mode, the Windows version must match the PC architecture. A 64-bit UEFI PC can only boot 64-bit versions of Windows. A 32-bit PC can only boot 32-bit versions of Windows. In some cases, while in legacy BIOS mode, you may be able to run 32-bit Windows on a 64-bit PC, assuming the manufacturer supports 32-bit legacy BIOS mode on the PC. Applies To: Windows 8, Windows 8.1, Windows Server 2012, Windows Server 2012 R2"

Though my issue is not how many bit windows is.. it's just the detection.. but to avoid further problems, I see it's worth using 64bit windows on a 64bit laptop

The win7 32bit does have an EFI folder. so I guess rufus is wrong when it says https://i.sstatic.net/sfHdM.png So maybe the win7 download tool is the thing to use for that.. Or, just formatting it with rufus and copying the files over.

The win7 32bit does have an EFI folder. so I guess rufus is wrong when it says it's not an EFI image https://i.sstatic.net/sfHdM.png So maybe the win7 download tool is the thing to use for that.. Or, just formatting it with rufus and copying the files over. Though my laptop is 64bit.. so perhaps no use testing a 32bit ISO../ no point.

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-au/library/hh824898.aspx "While in UEFI mode, the Windows version must match the PC architecture. A 64-bit UEFI PC can only boot 64-bit versions of Windows. A 32-bit PC can only boot 32-bit versions of Windows. In some cases, while in legacy BIOS mode, you may be able to run 32-bit Windows on a 64-bit PC, assuming the manufacturer supports 32-bit legacy BIOS mode on the PC. Applies To: Windows 8, Windows 8.1, Windows Server 2012, Windows Server 2012 R2"

Though my issue is not how many bit windows is.. it's just the detection.. but to avoid further problems, I see it's worth using 64bit windows on a 64bit laptop

deleted 196 characters in body
Source Link
barlop
  • 24.3k
  • 47
  • 164
  • 247
Loading
removed a note that wasn't necessary to include
Source Link
barlop
  • 24.3k
  • 47
  • 164
  • 247
Loading
added 446 characters in body
Source Link
barlop
  • 24.3k
  • 47
  • 164
  • 247
Loading
added 394 characters in body
Source Link
barlop
  • 24.3k
  • 47
  • 164
  • 247
Loading
added 394 characters in body
Source Link
barlop
  • 24.3k
  • 47
  • 164
  • 247
Loading
added 267 characters in body
Source Link
barlop
  • 24.3k
  • 47
  • 164
  • 247
Loading
added 526 characters in body
Source Link
barlop
  • 24.3k
  • 47
  • 164
  • 247
Loading
added 306 characters in body
Source Link
barlop
  • 24.3k
  • 47
  • 164
  • 247
Loading
added 403 characters in body
Source Link
barlop
  • 24.3k
  • 47
  • 164
  • 247
Loading
added 326 characters in body
Source Link
barlop
  • 24.3k
  • 47
  • 164
  • 247
Loading
Source Link
barlop
  • 24.3k
  • 47
  • 164
  • 247
Loading