Skip to main content
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

How can I allow a program, which only supports talking through a HTTP proxy, to talk through a SOCKS proxy? In other words, take the HTTP-proxy request and turn it into a SOCKS-proxy request which gets forwarded to the SOCKS proxy, and pass the returned data back to the program through the HTTP proxy.

I need a solution that works on Debian Linux, preferably using software that is prepackaged in Debian's main repository.

The chain of communications would be: My program -> HTTP proxy (local) -> SOCKS proxy (local) -> External access

I found a handful of questions about doing it the other way around (a SOCKS proxy forwarding to a HTTP proxy), but that doesn't help me. HTTP proxy server for Windows that forwards to SOCKS proxyHTTP proxy server for Windows that forwards to SOCKS proxy is similar to what I want, but since it asks for Windows solutions it doesn't help me.

How can I allow a program, which only supports talking through a HTTP proxy, to talk through a SOCKS proxy? In other words, take the HTTP-proxy request and turn it into a SOCKS-proxy request which gets forwarded to the SOCKS proxy, and pass the returned data back to the program through the HTTP proxy.

I need a solution that works on Debian Linux, preferably using software that is prepackaged in Debian's main repository.

The chain of communications would be: My program -> HTTP proxy (local) -> SOCKS proxy (local) -> External access

I found a handful of questions about doing it the other way around (a SOCKS proxy forwarding to a HTTP proxy), but that doesn't help me. HTTP proxy server for Windows that forwards to SOCKS proxy is similar to what I want, but since it asks for Windows solutions it doesn't help me.

How can I allow a program, which only supports talking through a HTTP proxy, to talk through a SOCKS proxy? In other words, take the HTTP-proxy request and turn it into a SOCKS-proxy request which gets forwarded to the SOCKS proxy, and pass the returned data back to the program through the HTTP proxy.

I need a solution that works on Debian Linux, preferably using software that is prepackaged in Debian's main repository.

The chain of communications would be: My program -> HTTP proxy (local) -> SOCKS proxy (local) -> External access

I found a handful of questions about doing it the other way around (a SOCKS proxy forwarding to a HTTP proxy), but that doesn't help me. HTTP proxy server for Windows that forwards to SOCKS proxy is similar to what I want, but since it asks for Windows solutions it doesn't help me.

Source Link
user
  • 30k
  • 11
  • 103
  • 147

Debian Linux: How can I expose a SOCKS proxy as a HTTP proxy for the purpose of HTTP/HTTPS requests?

How can I allow a program, which only supports talking through a HTTP proxy, to talk through a SOCKS proxy? In other words, take the HTTP-proxy request and turn it into a SOCKS-proxy request which gets forwarded to the SOCKS proxy, and pass the returned data back to the program through the HTTP proxy.

I need a solution that works on Debian Linux, preferably using software that is prepackaged in Debian's main repository.

The chain of communications would be: My program -> HTTP proxy (local) -> SOCKS proxy (local) -> External access

I found a handful of questions about doing it the other way around (a SOCKS proxy forwarding to a HTTP proxy), but that doesn't help me. HTTP proxy server for Windows that forwards to SOCKS proxy is similar to what I want, but since it asks for Windows solutions it doesn't help me.