Skip to main content
added 6 characters in body
Source Link
GetFree
  • 3.2k
  • 10
  • 41
  • 48

I use my laptop with 2 external monitors and external keyboard (I use it as a desktop at home), but when I go out I only take the laptop of course.
What bothers me is that I always have to open and close the lid just to weakpress the laptop uppower buton. I
I dont have enough free space in my working area to keep my laptop's lid open, and I dont want to keep it that way either.

Is there a way I can wake-up/turn-on my laptop without opening the lid?

I dont have another computer in my LAN (just my laptop and router) so the wake-on-lan technique wont serve my needs.
Unless.... there would be some kind of device (a simple and small device) that connects to a LAN and sends the magic packet. But such a device would have to have a way to receive a MAC address as input from the user, so I don't think such a device exists at all.

I use my laptop with 2 external monitors and external keyboard (I use it as a desktop at home), but when I go out I only take the laptop of course.
What bothers me is that I always have to open and close the lid just to weak the laptop up. I dont have enough free space in my working area to keep my laptop's lid open, and I dont want to keep it that way either.

Is there a way I can wake-up/turn-on my laptop without opening the lid?

I dont have another computer in my LAN (just my laptop and router) so the wake-on-lan technique wont serve my needs.
Unless.... there would be some kind of device (a simple and small device) that connects to a LAN and sends the magic packet. But such a device would have to have a way to receive a MAC address as input from the user, so I don't think such a device exists at all.

I use my laptop with 2 external monitors and external keyboard (I use it as a desktop at home), but when I go out I only take the laptop of course.
What bothers me is that I always have to open and close the lid just to press the power buton.
I dont have enough free space in my working area to keep my laptop's lid open, and I dont want to keep it that way either.

Is there a way I can wake-up/turn-on my laptop without opening the lid?

I dont have another computer in my LAN (just my laptop and router) so the wake-on-lan technique wont serve my needs.
Unless.... there would be some kind of device (a simple and small device) that connects to a LAN and sends the magic packet. But such a device would have to have a way to receive a MAC address as input from the user, so I don't think such a device exists at all.

Source Link
GetFree
  • 3.2k
  • 10
  • 41
  • 48

How to turn-on/wake-up a laptop without opening the lid?

I use my laptop with 2 external monitors and external keyboard (I use it as a desktop at home), but when I go out I only take the laptop of course.
What bothers me is that I always have to open and close the lid just to weak the laptop up. I dont have enough free space in my working area to keep my laptop's lid open, and I dont want to keep it that way either.

Is there a way I can wake-up/turn-on my laptop without opening the lid?

I dont have another computer in my LAN (just my laptop and router) so the wake-on-lan technique wont serve my needs.
Unless.... there would be some kind of device (a simple and small device) that connects to a LAN and sends the magic packet. But such a device would have to have a way to receive a MAC address as input from the user, so I don't think such a device exists at all.