Skip to main content
deleted 24 characters in body
Source Link
Rui F Ribeiro
  • 57k
  • 26
  • 151
  • 233

Here's a newb question. I'm wanting to create a tar archive of a specific directory (with its subdirectories of course). But when I do it, using the tar command, I get a list of files that were included, for example:

a calendar_final/._style.css

a calendar_final/style.css

As you can see, there are two versions of the same file. This goes for every file, and there are many. How do I exclude the temporary files, with the ._ prefix, from the tar archive?

Here's a newb question. I'm wanting to create a tar archive of a specific directory (with its subdirectories of course). But when I do it, using the tar command, I get a list of files that were included, for example:

a calendar_final/._style.css

a calendar_final/style.css

As you can see, there are two versions of the same file. This goes for every file, and there are many. How do I exclude the temporary files, with the ._ prefix, from the tar archive?

I'm wanting to create a tar archive of a specific directory (with its subdirectories of course). But when I do it, using the tar command, I get a list of files that were included, for example:

a calendar_final/._style.css

a calendar_final/style.css

As you can see, there are two versions of the same file. This goes for every file, and there are many. How do I exclude the temporary files, with the ._ prefix, from the tar archive?

Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackUnix/status/49206358112874496
edited tags
Link
Gilles 'SO- stop being evil'
  • 838.7k
  • 198
  • 1.8k
  • 2.2k
Source Link
user1995
user1995

Create tar archive of a directory, except for hidden files?

Here's a newb question. I'm wanting to create a tar archive of a specific directory (with its subdirectories of course). But when I do it, using the tar command, I get a list of files that were included, for example:

a calendar_final/._style.css

a calendar_final/style.css

As you can see, there are two versions of the same file. This goes for every file, and there are many. How do I exclude the temporary files, with the ._ prefix, from the tar archive?