Skip to main content
Copy edited.
Source Link
Peter Mortensen
  • 12.2k
  • 23
  • 72
  • 90

I had the same issue, the following solved it for me:

I first of all reinstalled [Cortana]Cortana as explained in a previous post. This did not solve the issue, and I just want to include it for completeness (maybe not doing so makes a difference ;)

Then I opendopened up the indexing options and removed the user folder and the start menu folder (which can be found under C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu). To do so, hidden files must be displayed. I clicked okOK and closed the indexing options.

Then I reopend the indexing options, added the two folders again, clicked on advanced and enabled "Index encrypted files" and I clicked on Rebuild.

This solved the issue for me, now. Now Word, Excel and all programs can be found with the search. Maybe not all of my steps are necessary.

I had the same issue, the following solved it for me:

I first of all reinstalled [Cortana] as explained in a previous post. This did not solve the issue, I just want to include it for completeness (maybe not doing so makes a difference ;)

Then I opend up the indexing options and removed the user folder and the start menu folder (which can be found under C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu). To do so, hidden files must be displayed. I clicked ok and closed the indexing options.

Then I reopend the indexing options, added the two folders again, clicked on advanced and enabled "Index encrypted files" and I clicked on Rebuild.

This solved the issue for me, now Word, Excel and all programs can be found with the search. Maybe not all of my steps are necessary.

I had the same issue, the following solved it for me:

I first of all reinstalled Cortana as explained in a previous post. This did not solve the issue, and I just want to include it for completeness (maybe not doing so makes a difference ;)

Then I opened up the indexing options and removed the user folder and the start menu folder (which can be found under C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu). To do so, hidden files must be displayed. I clicked OK and closed the indexing options.

Then I reopend the indexing options, added the two folders again, clicked on advanced and enabled "Index encrypted files" and I clicked on Rebuild.

This solved the issue for me. Now Word, Excel and all programs can be found with the search. Maybe not all of my steps are necessary.

Source Link
Fabi
  • 11
  • 1

I had the same issue, the following solved it for me:

I first of all reinstalled [Cortana] as explained in a previous post. This did not solve the issue, I just want to include it for completeness (maybe not doing so makes a difference ;)

Then I opend up the indexing options and removed the user folder and the start menu folder (which can be found under C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu). To do so, hidden files must be displayed. I clicked ok and closed the indexing options.

Then I reopend the indexing options, added the two folders again, clicked on advanced and enabled "Index encrypted files" and I clicked on Rebuild.

This solved the issue for me, now Word, Excel and all programs can be found with the search. Maybe not all of my steps are necessary.