Skip to main content
Bumped by Community user
Updated question to be more clearer and removed pointless information.
Source Link

Rename a Mapped Network Drive via CMD

I have mapped a drive frommap a network. Once the drive via command line. Once this drive is successfulmapped, it will appear onappears under My Computer windows explorer together with the full path of the network. Now,

How can I want to rename the mapped drive by using command prompt. Is it possible? I

I have used ren the "full path name of the folder" & "new name of the folder" command, and itwhich works perfectly. but when I use it to rename the drive, it willdoes not work.

Rename a Mapped Network Drive

I have mapped a drive from a network. Once the command is successful, it will appear on My Computer windows explorer together with the path of the network. Now, I want to rename the mapped drive by using command prompt. Is it possible? I have used ren "full path name of the folder" "new name of the folder" command, and it works perfectly. but when I use it to rename the drive, it will not work.

Rename a Mapped Network Drive via CMD

I map a network drive via command line. Once this drive is mapped, it appears under My Computer with the full path.

How can I rename the mapped drive using command prompt?

I have used the "full path name of the folder" & "new name of the folder" command, which works perfectly but when I use it to rename the drive, it does not work.

Source Link
user
  • 11
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2

Rename a Mapped Network Drive

I have mapped a drive from a network. Once the command is successful, it will appear on My Computer windows explorer together with the path of the network. Now, I want to rename the mapped drive by using command prompt. Is it possible? I have used ren "full path name of the folder" "new name of the folder" command, and it works perfectly. but when I use it to rename the drive, it will not work.