Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
typos
Source Link
CaldeiraG
  • 2.6k
  • 8
  • 20
  • 33

Today I realized that I could not open firefox after I had closed it a few minutes before. 

I deleted firefox and installed it again and still had the same issue. Eventually

Eventually I realized that when I close firefox that it doesn't show up on the screen but there would still be a background-process that shows up. If I would try to open firefox again it would tell me that firefox is still running and can therefore not be opened again. The

Then I realized that it happens with other programs as well. Here are the steps I have tried to try to solve this issue:

  1. I restarted the pc several times
  2. I tried to restore the system to a backup from yesterday
  3. I tried to close the background-process through taskkill
  4. I tried closing the processes through the task-manager
  5. I disabled the kaspersky anti-virus
  6. I disabled anti-maleaware-bytesMalwarebytes

None of this things worked. I then created a new user-account and with the new account I do not have this problem.

If I try the command: taskkill /im firefox.exe /Ftaskkill /im firefox.exe /F it tells me, that the process could not be closed because there is no instance of this task currently being executed.

Does anybody have a suggestion on what else I could try?

Today I realized that I could not open firefox after I had closed it a few minutes before. I deleted firefox and installed it again and still had the same issue. Eventually I realized that when I close firefox that it doesn't show up on the screen but there would still be a background-process that shows up. If I would try to open firefox again it would tell me that firefox is still running and can therefore not be opened again. The I realized that it happens with other programs as well. Here are the steps I have tried to try to solve this issue:

  1. I restarted the pc several times
  2. I tried to restore the system to a backup from yesterday
  3. I tried to close the background-process through taskkill
  4. I tried closing the processes through the task-manager
  5. I disabled the kaspersky anti-virus
  6. I disabled anti-maleaware-bytes

None of this things worked. I then created a new user-account and with the new account I do not have this problem.

If I try the command: taskkill /im firefox.exe /F it tells me, that the process could not be closed because there is no instance of this task currently being executed.

Does anybody have a suggestion on what else I could try?

Today I realized that I could not open firefox after I had closed it a few minutes before. 

I deleted firefox and installed it again and still had the same issue.

Eventually I realized that when I close firefox that it doesn't show up on the screen but there would still be a background-process that shows up. If I would try to open firefox again it would tell me that firefox is still running and can therefore not be opened again.

Then I realized that it happens with other programs as well. Here are the steps I have tried to try to solve this issue:

  1. I restarted the pc several times
  2. I tried to restore the system to a backup from yesterday
  3. I tried to close the background-process through taskkill
  4. I tried closing the processes through the task-manager
  5. I disabled the kaspersky anti-virus
  6. I disabled Malwarebytes

None of this things worked. I then created a new user-account and with the new account I do not have this problem.

If I try the command: taskkill /im firefox.exe /F it tells me, that the process could not be closed because there is no instance of this task currently being executed.

Does anybody have a suggestion on what else I could try?

Post Migrated Here from serverfault.com (revisions)
Source Link
Dennis
Dennis

Windows 10 background processes can not be stopped

Today I realized that I could not open firefox after I had closed it a few minutes before. I deleted firefox and installed it again and still had the same issue. Eventually I realized that when I close firefox that it doesn't show up on the screen but there would still be a background-process that shows up. If I would try to open firefox again it would tell me that firefox is still running and can therefore not be opened again. The I realized that it happens with other programs as well. Here are the steps I have tried to try to solve this issue:

  1. I restarted the pc several times
  2. I tried to restore the system to a backup from yesterday
  3. I tried to close the background-process through taskkill
  4. I tried closing the processes through the task-manager
  5. I disabled the kaspersky anti-virus
  6. I disabled anti-maleaware-bytes

None of this things worked. I then created a new user-account and with the new account I do not have this problem.

If I try the command: taskkill /im firefox.exe /F it tells me, that the process could not be closed because there is no instance of this task currently being executed.

Does anybody have a suggestion on what else I could try?