Skip to main content
Bumped by Community user
added 191 characters in body
Source Link

I can type one letter in the search field and then am prevented from typing more. Then cortana closes:

enter image description here

I tried running the windows index troubleshooter, and no problems were found. I tried running sfc /scannow. I tried deleting this key described by this post which didn't work:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion‌​\Explorer\FolderType‌​s\{ef87b4cb-f2ce-478‌​5-8658-4ca6c63e38c6}‌​\TopViews\{00000000-‌​0000-0000-0000-00000‌​0000000}

After creating a new account, cortana works but I want to keep the original account.

While trying to follow this thread: When I stop the service named WSearch, briefly I can use cortana again but the service restarts itself after about ten seconds so I can't run the command marked at code segment 3 below suggested by the post to do while the service is closed. and I don't know how to disable it. I'm running Windows 10 home and GPedit.msc is not available.

Ignoring enter image description here Ignoring disabling WSearch and running the similar commands to reinstall windows store suggested above and here produce errors saying a higher version of the package is already installed.
1:

Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}

2:

Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers |Where-Object {$_.InstallLocation -like "*SystemApps*"} | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}

3:

$manifest = (Get-AppxPackage Microsoft.WindowsStore).InstallLocation + '\AppxManifest.xml' ; Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register $manifest

enter image description here

I can type one letter in the search field and then am prevented from typing more. Then cortana closes:

enter image description here

I tried running the windows index troubleshooter, and no problems were found. I tried running sfc /scannow. I tried deleting this key described by this post which didn't work:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion‌​\Explorer\FolderType‌​s\{ef87b4cb-f2ce-478‌​5-8658-4ca6c63e38c6}‌​\TopViews\{00000000-‌​0000-0000-0000-00000‌​0000000}

After creating a new account, cortana works but I want to keep the original account.

While trying to follow this thread: When I stop the service named WSearch, briefly I can use cortana again but the service restarts itself after about ten seconds so I can't run the command while the service is closed. I don't know how to disable it. I'm running Windows 10 home and GPedit.msc is not available.

Ignoring disabling WSearch and running the similar commands to reinstall windows store suggested above and here produce errors saying a higher version of the package is already installed.
1:

Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}

2:

Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers |Where-Object {$_.InstallLocation -like "*SystemApps*"} | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}

3:

$manifest = (Get-AppxPackage Microsoft.WindowsStore).InstallLocation + '\AppxManifest.xml' ; Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register $manifest

enter image description here

I can type one letter in the search field and then am prevented from typing more. Then cortana closes:

enter image description here

I tried running the windows index troubleshooter, and no problems were found. I tried running sfc /scannow. I tried deleting this key described by this post which didn't work:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion‌​\Explorer\FolderType‌​s\{ef87b4cb-f2ce-478‌​5-8658-4ca6c63e38c6}‌​\TopViews\{00000000-‌​0000-0000-0000-00000‌​0000000}

After creating a new account, cortana works but I want to keep the original account.

While trying to follow this thread: When I stop the service named WSearch, briefly I can use cortana again but the service restarts itself after about ten seconds so I can't run the command marked at code segment 3 below suggested by the post to do while the service is closed and I don't know how to disable it. I'm running Windows 10 home and GPedit.msc is not available. enter image description here Ignoring disabling WSearch and running the similar commands to reinstall windows store suggested above and here produce errors saying a higher version of the package is already installed.
1:

Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}

2:

Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers |Where-Object {$_.InstallLocation -like "*SystemApps*"} | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}

3:

$manifest = (Get-AppxPackage Microsoft.WindowsStore).InstallLocation + '\AppxManifest.xml' ; Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register $manifest
added 191 characters in body
Source Link

I can type one letter in the search field and then am prevented from typing more. Then cortana closes:

enter image description here

I tried running the windows index troubleshooter, and no problems were found. I tried running sfc /scannow. I tried deleting this key described by this post which didn't work:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion‌​\Explorer\FolderType‌​s\{ef87b4cb-f2ce-478‌​5-8658-4ca6c63e38c6}‌​\TopViews\{00000000-‌​0000-0000-0000-00000‌​0000000}

After creating a new account, cortana works but I want to keep the original account.

While trying to follow this thread: When I stop the service named WSearch, briefly I can use cortana again but the service restarts itself after about ten seconds so I can't run the command while the service is closed. I don't know how to disable it. I'm running Windows 10 home and GPedit.msc is not available.

Ignoring disabling WSearch and running the similar commands to reinstall windows store suggested above and here produce errors saying a higher version of the package is already installed.
1:

Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}

2:

Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers |Where-Object {$_.InstallLocation -like "*SystemApps*"} | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}

3:

$manifest = (Get-AppxPackage Microsoft.WindowsStore).InstallLocation + '\AppxManifest.xml' ; Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register $manifest

enter image description here

I tried running the windows index troubleshooter, and no problems were found. I tried running sfc /scannow. I tried deleting this key described by this post which didn't work:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion‌​\Explorer\FolderType‌​s\{ef87b4cb-f2ce-478‌​5-8658-4ca6c63e38c6}‌​\TopViews\{00000000-‌​0000-0000-0000-00000‌​0000000}

After creating a new account, cortana works but I want to keep the original account.

While trying to follow this thread: When I stop the service named WSearch, briefly I can use cortana again but the service restarts itself after about ten seconds so I can't run the command while the service is closed. I don't know how to disable it. I'm running Windows 10 home and GPedit.msc is not available.

Ignoring disabling WSearch and running the similar commands to reinstall windows store suggested above and here produce errors saying a higher version of the package is already installed.
1:

Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}

2:

Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers |Where-Object {$_.InstallLocation -like "*SystemApps*"} | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}

3:

$manifest = (Get-AppxPackage Microsoft.WindowsStore).InstallLocation + '\AppxManifest.xml' ; Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register $manifest

enter image description here

I can type one letter in the search field and then am prevented from typing more. Then cortana closes:

enter image description here

I tried running the windows index troubleshooter, and no problems were found. I tried running sfc /scannow. I tried deleting this key described by this post which didn't work:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion‌​\Explorer\FolderType‌​s\{ef87b4cb-f2ce-478‌​5-8658-4ca6c63e38c6}‌​\TopViews\{00000000-‌​0000-0000-0000-00000‌​0000000}

After creating a new account, cortana works but I want to keep the original account.

While trying to follow this thread: When I stop the service named WSearch, briefly I can use cortana again but the service restarts itself after about ten seconds so I can't run the command while the service is closed. I don't know how to disable it. I'm running Windows 10 home and GPedit.msc is not available.

Ignoring disabling WSearch and running the similar commands to reinstall windows store suggested above and here produce errors saying a higher version of the package is already installed.
1:

Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}

2:

Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers |Where-Object {$_.InstallLocation -like "*SystemApps*"} | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}

3:

$manifest = (Get-AppxPackage Microsoft.WindowsStore).InstallLocation + '\AppxManifest.xml' ; Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register $manifest

enter image description here

added 173 characters in body
Source Link

I tried running the windows index troubleshooter, and no problems were found. I tried running sfc /scannow. I tried deleting this key described by this post which didn't work:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion‌​\Explorer\FolderType‌​s\{ef87b4cb-f2ce-478‌​5-8658-4ca6c63e38c6}‌​\TopViews\{00000000-‌​0000-0000-0000-00000‌​0000000}

After creating a new account, cortana works but I want to keep the original account.

While trying to follow this thread: When I stop the service named WSearch, briefly I can use cortana again but the service restarts itself after about ten seconds so I can't run the command while the service is closed. I don't know how to disable it. I'm running Windows 10 home and GPedit.msc is not available.

Ignoring disabling WSearch and running the similar commands to reinstall windows store suggested above and here produce errors saying a higher version of the package is already installed.
1:

Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}

2:

Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers |Where-Object {$_.InstallLocation -like "*SystemApps*"} | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}

3:

$manifest = (Get-AppxPackage Microsoft.WindowsStore).InstallLocation + '\AppxManifest.xml' ; Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register $manifest

enter image description here

I tried index troubleshooter, and no problems were found. I tried sfc. I tried deleting this key which didn't work:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion‌​\Explorer\FolderType‌​s\{ef87b4cb-f2ce-478‌​5-8658-4ca6c63e38c6}‌​\TopViews\{00000000-‌​0000-0000-0000-00000‌​0000000}

After creating a new account, cortana works but I want to keep the original account.

While trying to follow this thread: When I stop the service named WSearch, briefly I can use cortana again but the service restarts itself after about ten seconds so I can't run the command while the service is closed. I don't know how to disable it. I'm running Windows 10 home and GPedit.msc is not available.

Ignoring disabling WSearch and running the similar commands to reinstall windows store suggested above and here produce errors saying a higher version of the package is already installed.
1:

Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}

2:

Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers |Where-Object {$_.InstallLocation -like "*SystemApps*"} | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}

3:

$manifest = (Get-AppxPackage Microsoft.WindowsStore).InstallLocation + '\AppxManifest.xml' ; Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register $manifest

enter image description here

I tried running the windows index troubleshooter, and no problems were found. I tried running sfc /scannow. I tried deleting this key described by this post which didn't work:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion‌​\Explorer\FolderType‌​s\{ef87b4cb-f2ce-478‌​5-8658-4ca6c63e38c6}‌​\TopViews\{00000000-‌​0000-0000-0000-00000‌​0000000}

After creating a new account, cortana works but I want to keep the original account.

While trying to follow this thread: When I stop the service named WSearch, briefly I can use cortana again but the service restarts itself after about ten seconds so I can't run the command while the service is closed. I don't know how to disable it. I'm running Windows 10 home and GPedit.msc is not available.

Ignoring disabling WSearch and running the similar commands to reinstall windows store suggested above and here produce errors saying a higher version of the package is already installed.
1:

Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}

2:

Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers |Where-Object {$_.InstallLocation -like "*SystemApps*"} | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}

3:

$manifest = (Get-AppxPackage Microsoft.WindowsStore).InstallLocation + '\AppxManifest.xml' ; Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register $manifest

enter image description here

added 175 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
Loading
Source Link
Loading